• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Changing Horses Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth studio album for the ex-Radish member is said to have some country elements.

Top Track

Gypsy Rose
Oh gypsy Rose I will wait for your sun to shine Now you got me going Somewhere no one could fine All in my life It's the world that makes me cry Oh... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. In Changing Horses Kweller has slipped seamlessly into another stream of songwriting tradition, and all signs say it suits him.
  2. Changing Horses emphatically answers the question of “what next?” for Ben Kweller and although not faultless, it’s a strong showing, especially for someone exploring a new musical direction as he is.
  3. Alternative Press
    Regardless of one's opinion on music that drawls, Changing Horses is worth your attention. [Mar 2009, p.106]
  4. 60
    Changing Horses' Americana journey is hardly inventive, but Kweller's boyish charm and quirky songwriting keep it more promising than predictable.
  5. The album really comes into its own when soft and subtle songs.
  6. There's a charmingly tossed-off quality to the entire set, whose 10 songs frequently deal with women and their troubled men.
  7. Under The Radar
    Changing Horses crams its few memorable moments onto the back half of the album. But its not enough to compensate for the lack of creatvity and foced nature of most of the disc. [Winter 2009, p.72]

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of