• Record Label: Sony
  • Release Date: Jul 24, 2001
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Alternative Press
    80
    Comfort Eagle is infinitely smarter, smarmier and catchier than Weezer's Green Album. [Oct 2001, p.79]
  2. Uncut
    80
    John McCrea's sense of subversion skates on the thin ice of their self-belittling grooves without ever quite toppling. [Jan 2002, p.131]
  3. Cake at times manage to counterbalance the smart-aleck cynicism with skilled musicianship, and when [John] McCrea drops the monotone bombast and actually sings, the songs really work.
  4. 70
    Cake often veers close to the land of Dr. Demento -- but its catchy, quirky music always manages to pull back from the brink of madness by being a bit more substantial than your typical novelty tune.
  5. With Comfort Eagle mainly serving as a variation on the same themes that Cake keeps covering, it's tough to say for sure whether it's a better or worse album than anything else by the band.
  6. It's mostly funny, but it also gets kind of same-y as these average Joes embrace their marching-band backgrounds and revel in self-deprecating humor.
  7. The sweetest moments come when frontman John McCrea breaks from the formula and extends his baritone beyond a single note, as on the harmony fueled ''Pretty Pink Ribbon'' and the yearning ''World of Two.''
  8. Just as little has changed on the radio front, so has Cake stuck with its market-proven formula on "Comfort Eagle."
  9. The best songs, particularly "Long Line of Cars" and "Pretty Pink Ribbon," exhibit a modern pop that is both mechanized and organic.
  10. Blender
    60
    McCrea is still spinning wry, keenly observed stories, though the band has broadened its stylistic base some... [Aug/Sep 2001, p.121]
  11. Q Magazine
    60
    When it works, it works brilliantly. [Dec 2001, p.120]
  12. 60
    And the songs are catchy, yes. Just not so catchy that you're already singing along with them the first time you hear them.
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 44
  2. Negative: 1 out of 44
  1. Jan 24, 2021
    10
    Oh man I wish I could give this masterpiece an 11! I will never understand people who doesn't love Cake. My name is Dosh Javis not JoshOh man I wish I could give this masterpiece an 11! I will never understand people who doesn't love Cake. My name is Dosh Javis not Josh Davis ok, #cakeisbetterthanthebeatles Full Review »
  2. Mar 27, 2020
    8
    Comfort Eagle by CAKE: 7.46

    Opera Singer: 1 Meanwhile, Rick James…: 0.75 Shadow Stabbing: 1 Short Skirt/Long Jacket: 1 :)
    Comfort Eagle by CAKE: 7.46

    Opera Singer: 1
    Meanwhile, Rick James…: 0.75
    Shadow Stabbing: 1
    Short Skirt/Long Jacket: 1 :)
    Commissioning a Symphony In C: 1
    Arco Arena - Instrumental: 1
    Comfort Eagle: 1 :)
    Long Line Of Cars: 1 :)
    Love You Madly: 1 :)
    Pretty Pink Ribbon: 0.5
    World Of Two: 0.25

    9.5/11 ~ .864 -> 7.46

    CAKE is a very unusual band, and that is one of the reasons why Comfort Eagle is so fun to listen to. A lot of my favorite CAKE songs come from this album, like Long Line of Cars and Love You Madly. Most of Comfort Eagle is filled with really unique and catchy songs, with very quirky yet fun lyrics to go along with them. The only couple songs that I wasn’t super fond of were Pretty Pink Ribbon and World Of Two, since I didn’t really like the lyrics as much in Ribbon, and World Of Two just didn’t work for me musically. It was a little bland. That being said, I absolutely loved all the other songs. A lot of really good music came out of Comfort Eagle. “We are now accepting callers for these, beautiful, pendant key-chains”. So good! All music lovers should listen to Comfort Eagle, such a great album. Highlights: Opera Singer, Shadow Stabbing, Short Skirt/Long Jacket, Commissioning a Symphony In C, Arco Arena - Instrumental, Comfort Eagle, Long Line Of Cars, and Love You Madly.
    Full Review »
  3. AyshL.
    May 1, 2008
    10
    Amazing.