• Record Label: Wichita
  • Release Date: Jul 15, 2014

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Jul 8, 2014
    By the time the spine-tingling hidden track after the closing Wanderer Wandering has faded out, you’ll be convinced you’ve heard one of the best albums of the year.
  2. Jul 15, 2014
    Watson and Taylor still communicate better than most bands or friends could hope to achieve. But they’ve finally let the listener into Slow Club’s emotional core, making the kind of songs that aren’t just meant to score feelings, but actually make the listener feel.
  3. 85
    Slow Club are grander than ever, shimmering like disco balls, toting an LP that’ll break them into mainstream darlinghood; by the sounds of this bolshy confidence and tune-garlanded melange, they’re not only ready, but expecting it.
  4. Aug 4, 2014
    It’s direct, unflinching and explicitly pop: rarely have Slow Club sounded this full, this bold.
  5. Jul 10, 2014
    This new sense of ambition is crucial for a once-whimsical band, and is reflected in their banishment of nu-folk tweeness in favour of bombastic Motown soul.
  6. Jul 8, 2014
    Complete Surrender is replete with consistently outstanding moments. [Jun-Jul 2014, p.88]
  7. Jul 8, 2014
    Sleeker, stronger and more confident than ever, on Complete Surrender Slow Club flourish with each strum and every breath.
  8. Jul 8, 2014
    No dead sharks here, then; just the sound of a once-cult band confounding their perceived limitations and joining the top tier of Britain's pop purveyors in the process.
  9. Jul 14, 2014
    Listening to Complete Surrender, you get the sense that Taylor and Watson would be just as happy making music for, and with, each other in their spare time, revelling in their companionship.
  10. Uncut
    Aug 11, 2014
    The overall mood is The Band given Taylor Swift's budget, on heartfelt and easily wounded love songs. [Sep 2014, p.78]
  11. Jul 28, 2014
    There are at least five tracks here which are a class apart from anything else they’ve written, and hint at a dexterity and professionalism that hadn’t really been previously evident. On the other hand, it’s probably the least consistent of Slow Club’s three albums so far.
  12. Magnet
    Jul 18, 2014
    This album sounds nothing like the stuff that got you into Slow Club in the first place. Approach tipsy and with caution. [No. 111, p.61]
  13. Jul 17, 2014
    Complete Surrender shows that Taylor and Watson are willing to stretch out and continue their evolution as they deliver a strong third outing.
  14. 60
    For all the flash and flair, the freshest, most intimate moments here are the result of holding back.
  15. Jul 14, 2014
    Colin Elliot, who has worked with Richard Hawley, is a good match for the material, and his production skills make a cohesive whole of the diverse strands.
  16. Q Magazine
    Jul 8, 2014
    A few more laughter-lines wouldn't have gone amiss. [Aug 2014, p.112]
  17. Sep 3, 2014
    Even stripping off the gloss doesn’t help, because there’s not much under it.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Oct 1, 2014
    Rebecca Taylor and Charles Watson, Slow Club, have evolved so magnificently and noticeably from the very good pop-friendly music of theirRebecca Taylor and Charles Watson, Slow Club, have evolved so magnificently and noticeably from the very good pop-friendly music of their debut "Yeah, So?" What was once a jaunty exchange about love and all of its nuances - sometimes Taylor taking the vocals; sometimes Watson - has now morphed into a moodier kind of album/band who are still all about the theme of loving moods. I must admit that I haven't heard their 2nd album yet, but this album "Complete Surrender" has, Taylor, sounding a little like Lana Del Rey being backed on vocals with Charles Watson, and their individual songs match each other's perfectly. The sound is that of a very different band - in a good way - from their 2009 debut, and I welcome the change. Really good sultry music with two really good singer/songwriters who I hope someday will be more noticed and appreciated. Collapse Full Review »