Cry Pretty Image
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 117 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length release for the country/pop artist features a guest appearance from Ludacris and was co-produced with David Garcia.
Buy On

Top Track

Cry Pretty
[Verse 1] I'm sorry But I'm just a girl not usually the kind to show my heart to the world I'm pretty good at keeping it together I hold my... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Sep 14, 2018
    90
    Underwood is taking risks for the first time. Nearly all of them pay off. ... The result is an album as satisfying as it is surprising.
  2. 83
    At its best, she’s never sounded more vulnerable, or more willing to play within the definitions of country music. But it also means that when she pulls back, and falls into the costumes of others, it’s a little harder to accept the veil. ... It’s the second half of Cry Pretty where Underwood starts to truly lay her cards on the table--and where she soars the most.
  3. Sep 21, 2018
    83
    Here the bluesy “Drinking Alone” transports you to a smoky bar where two lonely strangers find each other above their beer bottles, while “The Bullet” is a strong and surprising anti-gun-violence message from a country star. But it’s Underwood’s considerable resilience that shines through here.
  4. Sep 19, 2018
    64
    Underwood nails two tried and true country traditions: the drinking-to-death heart-wrencher (“Spinning Bottles”) and the faith-based, family-first hymn (“Kingdom”), proving both times that big, emotional ballads remain her bread and butter. Much of the rest of the album finds Underwood exploring pop and R&B sounds more than ever before. Sometimes, she’s successful. ... Sometimes, she’s not so successful.
  5. Oct 4, 2018
    60
    Her voice as a lyricist (she co-wrote two-thirds of the songs) tends to drift just a little, with the more specific songs working better. With the thick production on the album, it models radio trends but doesn't advance them. Given Underwood's talents, it would be exciting to see her craft a character-driven album and some quieter production.
  6. Sep 14, 2018
    60
    The album is frustrating, with no middle ground, and the strengths don't quite make up for the weaknesses.
  7. Sep 14, 2018
    40
    It is all gloss and shine, with sadness at industry-approved levels of maximum efficacy. Take 75% uplift, add 20% melancholy, top up with 5% not actually contentious controversy, and voilà: Cry Pretty.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 50
  2. Negative: 14 out of 50
  1. Oct 16, 2018
    10
    Her best album yet. I can't stop playing it on repeat. She really outdid herself and went in a direction she's never gone before. StandoutHer best album yet. I can't stop playing it on repeat. She really outdid herself and went in a direction she's never gone before. Standout Tracks: That Song That We Used To Make Love To, Low, Backsliding, and Drinking Alone. Collapse
  2. Sep 14, 2018
    10
    Holy SMOKES! Bring the extinguisher because this album is pure FIRE! For anyone that said Carrie is ONLY Country POP, have them stop in for aHoly SMOKES! Bring the extinguisher because this album is pure FIRE! For anyone that said Carrie is ONLY Country POP, have them stop in for a listen or two to this album! I count it as NUMERO UNO of all her albums and I am literally STOKED !!!

    GOTS is the very definition of country. Gives me Johnny & June vibes. Gonna have to get me some Jack in my coke and have a party…...

    Low has just GOT TO BE A SINGLE! TODAY! TOMORROW! Even YESTERDAY! It reminded me somewhat of Patsy Cline and the crooning, whaling… A vocal masterpiece. FIRST CLASS!

    Backsliding - I loved the words….really need to hear all of it.

    Southbound – Absolutely loved it. Very catchy, a great quickstep! Pure country with a kicker!

    TSWUTMLT – What a little mid tempo jewel.

    Drinking Alone – I’m telling you….bluesy as all get out. Chris Stapleton vibes here. Ends with a shooter or two……..

    The Bullet – Grab a towel in lieu of a Kleenex. Wow, start to finish, this is a tear jerker to beat all. Words are just beautiful, voice singing it even more so. Gave me a little bit of Allen Jackson The Day The World Stopped Turning vibes..

    Spinning Bottles – WOW. Cut open my chest and exposed my heart in this soulful ballad with the almost sobbing vocals. Keep hold of the Kleenex you had for The Bullet.

    End Up With You – Loving the staccato upbeat bursts in this song. Probably the least country of all the songs, it’s catchy as all get out.

    Kingdom – Sounds very personal and glad to see that Carrie is including this kind of song on her new album. Perfectly imperfect…..

    I personally give this album an A+
    Loving the start to finish….the whole shebang. Love how it covers every facet of feelings from the lowest of lows and climbing to the highest of the highs with The Champion. A work of art. And the framer is Carrie. Her voice covers so many different facets throughout the album. Loving how she just WENT with it! Let it talk to her! Let her voice tell the stories!
    The album is the definition of GRAMMY.
    Expand
  3. Sep 19, 2018
    10
    Love this album,so personal.The Bullet,Low,Spinning Bottle are so real,heartbreaking.And then there ever so fum That Song and Soutbound! GreatLove this album,so personal.The Bullet,Low,Spinning Bottle are so real,heartbreaking.And then there ever so fum That Song and Soutbound! Great collection of songs ending with the ultra personal Kingdom which is just beautiful!

    Vocals are off the charts!
    Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2018
    10
    This wonderful album is my favorite since Some Hearts. Just brilliant in every way. Carrie Underwood's vocal performance is amazing. I loveThis wonderful album is my favorite since Some Hearts. Just brilliant in every way. Carrie Underwood's vocal performance is amazing. I love every song on the album -- production and performance simply outstanding. Best work to date by a great artist. Expand
  5. Sep 22, 2018
    10
    I'm not sure what critics are listening to but, this album is not only musically brilliant, lyrically interesting & emotionally a journey BUT,I'm not sure what critics are listening to but, this album is not only musically brilliant, lyrically interesting & emotionally a journey BUT, Carrie's vocals ranges from Belt to just shy of a whisper. The high points for me personally are LOW, GHOSTS ON THE STEREO, CRY PRETTY, THE BULLET (brave choice Carrie!)… oh who am I kidding, the weakest song for me on the album was End up With You and it's still catchy as heck. I feel like I went from a stadium to a smoky bar in New Orleans to her living room in Tennessee & just outside her church for a moment. This is her best work to date. I'm not often surprised by music but this album 'shook' me in a good way. I like listening to albums as stand alone, not comparing to what has been done, what I expect or what should have been done. I like to rate them based on their own merit. How many songs from the album do I have to skip to make it listenable. I don't have to skip any songs on this album. It's that good & a journey worth taking!!! Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2018
    0
    Another flop. She is no longer relevant now that she has been exposed as a political coward. This pop music is for children. I want music for adults.
  7. Sep 18, 2018
    0
    This album is wack. No seriously it is. The same, whiny country-pop we expect from this boring-ass girl. There are boosters of this album thatThis album is wack. No seriously it is. The same, whiny country-pop we expect from this boring-ass girl. There are boosters of this album that call it "experimental." Seriously? You call this "experimental"? Music artists like Beyoncé, Janelle Monáe, Solange, Kendrick Lamar, Kehlani, The Weeknd, and even Nicki Minaj and Travis Scott have experimented with several genres. And they have excelled at it, as they are visionaries compared to Carrie Underwood. Yet you don't see them widely praised as Carrie Underwood is, as they still have many detractors. It's up to you to see why. And it's frustrating. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews