User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Everything I Thought It Was Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The sixth full-length solo studio release from Justin Timberlake features guest appearances by *NSYNC, Fireboy Dml and Tobe Nwigwe.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Mar 19, 2024
    ‘Everything I Thought It Was’ can sometimes be forgettable across its 18-track largesse, while thematically it feels bunched around a cluster of feelings.
  2. Mar 14, 2024
    If the album were 10 tracks rather than 18 – many of which could in turn lose two minutes from their runtime – Timberlake’s musical redemption might be more of a home run. Invariably it sags.
  3. 60
    Clocking in at a slither under 77 minutes, ‘Everything I Thought It Was’ is a slog enlivened by some surprising moments.
  4. Mar 14, 2024
    It could have stood to cut five or six entries, starting with “Memphis.” That would have left “Fuckin’ Up the Disco,” an homage to his own “Let the Groove Get In,” as the album’s opening track — a starting point that motions towards what does work about the album versus the places in which it completely falls flat.
  5. Mar 20, 2024
    With an abundance of material, one could never fault Everything I Thought I Was for being too conservative, but it’s an all too clear case of quantity over quality, resulting in quickly diminishing returns.
  6. Mar 21, 2024
    Everything I Thought It Was feels less like a terrible Justin Timberlake album and more like wasted potential. Man of the Woods was terrible, but at least he took a risk. This one is fine, frictionless, and overwhelmingly safe.
  7. Mar 19, 2024
    Everything presents a harder-edged JT, who tries a little of everything over 77 minutes but adds remarkably little to the pop landscape.

See all 17 Critic Reviews