Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy On
  1. Jan 27, 2011
    100
    Listening to it today, marvelling at his seemingly effortless way with a tune, it's understandable why it remains a classic of its era.
  2. 100
    He wants our sex, and he can have it.
  3. Jan 27, 2011
    100
    Nearly a quarter-century in, Faith isn't timeless, but it fits into an '80s time capsule where horns, cheesy-sounding drum machines, and four-day-old stubble were the standard.
  4. Mar 7, 2011
    80
    While the synthesized sheen of '80s pop hasn't held up for everyone, even casual listeners will discover a new appreciation for the artist underneath superficiality and infamy.
  5. Uncut
    Feb 8, 2011
    80
    As a reminder of his consummate talent, and a place to start George's comeback, it's hard to beat. [Feb 2011, p.93]
  6. Feb 1, 2011
    80
    The album holds up as one of the Eighties' smartest megapop statements, full of passion and surefire hooks.
  7. Q Magazine
    Jan 27, 2011
    80
    It feels like a nimble, pleasure-seeking record which takes its grown-up themes in its stride and wants to entertain first and impress second. [Feb 2011, p.126]
  8. Feb 1, 2011
    70
    Though the new booklet of liner notes includes an interview in which Michael admits that he was fully aware of and exploring his own identity as a gay man, the album itself now clearly hides more than it reveals.
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 47
  2. Negative: 11 out of 47
  1. Feb 8, 2011
    8
    In the space of 50 odd minutes George Michael had created a brand new Pop identity, and the true genius of this recording was that he managedIn the space of 50 odd minutes George Michael had created a brand new Pop identity, and the true genius of this recording was that he managed to maintain his original Wham fans, and yet introduce a wide and varied audience of twenty somethings, galvanized by his great voice, some strong songs and an enigmatic presence that would continue throughout his career. http://hackskeptic.com Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    Faith is not timeless, but it's one of the greatest pop albums to come out of the 80's. George Michael established himself as a serious popFaith is not timeless, but it's one of the greatest pop albums to come out of the 80's. George Michael established himself as a serious pop star to be reckoned with after escaping the grips of 80's pop duo Wham. Two decades later, Faith is definitely dated, but it's still overall enjoyable and brings back nostalgic memories of a distant pass. Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2019
    9
    This is one of the albums that have defined my life. A lot of the past 2 years this album has helped me get through. I feel every song,This is one of the albums that have defined my life. A lot of the past 2 years this album has helped me get through. I feel every song, although not as timeless as his other work, is strong. He has strong vocals and even stronger songwriting. For a first album, it already sets him apart from his work with Wham Full Review »