Feel Flows: The Sunflower & Surf's Up Sessions 1969-1971 Image

Universal acclaim - based on 10 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Beach Boys compilation features remasters of 1970's Sunflower and 1971's Surf's Up with 32 bonus tracks including some previously unreleased a cappella tracks, outtakes, alternate mixes, and live tracks. The five-disc box set features over 100 previously unreleased tracks.
Buy Now
Buy on
  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Contemporary Pop/Rock, Rock & Roll, Psychedelic/Garage, AM Pop, Psychedelic Pop, Early Pop/Rock, Sunshine Pop, Surf
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Sep 13, 2021
    Feel Flows is an absolutely essential document that takes the first steps toward rewriting the story of a band that managed to persevere against overwhelming odds.
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    Aug 31, 2021
    Weighing in at 133 tracks, Feel Flows' bulk may be harder to validate than existing sets for the Pet Sounds/Smile era, but as a locked-down summer's soundtrack its mellifluous existential musings are hard to fault. [Aug 2021, p.86]
  3. 90
    Every single edition of this release is great value for money, and long-term and new fans alike will find hours of listening pleasure to be had no matter their budget.
  4. Aug 31, 2021
    Feel Flows lets everyone else hear what their fellow musicians have known for decades: When nobody was looking, the Beach Boys made extraordinary music, complex sounds all their own that made for California albums up there with Love’s Forever Changes, the Doors’ L.A. Woman and X’s Los Angeles. This stuff was made for these times, whatever those times might be.
  5. Aug 31, 2021
    Feel Flows moves the microscope over to one of the group's more interesting and quietly transformative phases, a curious time when their hopes to remain culturally relevant lived alongside some of their most inspired songwriting moments, and an earnest desire to grow artistically.
  6. Aug 31, 2021
    With each member given ample room for individual showcases, and each coming up with indelible songs and melodies, Feel Flows offers new insight into a creative peak.
  7. Mojo
    Aug 31, 2021
    The Beach Boys vault, though, is full of Dennis tracks, and Feel Flows makes a great showcase for that Wilson's unlikely gifts, and the inconsistent strategies that bedevilled the band. [Sep 2021, p.90]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Sep 6, 2021
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So many creative tracks—you get to hear them experimenting during the time they were evolving from a surf band. A fantastic revolutionary surf band for sure—no one else like them with those harmonies, chords and lyrics—such fun memories and stick in the brain music. But this time is truly special anyone who lived through it a and is a fan knows it. But now the rest of the world gets to hear it in this age away from the radio hierarchy. A great listen and love worthy! Expand