• Record Label: BMG
  • Release Date: Mar 20, 2020
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Mojo
    Mar 16, 2020
    80
    Removed from the living artist, it may one day be hailed as a great album. [Apr 2020, p.88]
  2. Mar 16, 2020
    80
    It is an album bursting with epigrammatic phrases, ridiculous rhymes, huge melodies and provocative opinions. The sound is brash and arresting.
  3. Mar 20, 2020
    70
    Set aside this inclination toward sneering solipsism, which not only characterizes but enlivens nearly every song, and I Am Not a Dog on a Chain is one of the better latter-day Morrissey records: the sense of musical daring reveals how placid and complacent he's been for the better part of a decade.
  4. Mar 20, 2020
    67
    If you can get past the pall cast by that song’s sentiment, I Am Not A Dog On A Chain features some of Morrissey’s best songs in years, and a couple of his worst. It leans—in weird but not unwelcome ways—on electronics more than any record he’s ever done.
  5. Mar 25, 2020
    61
    As with all documents by obsessives fixated on their targets, the album can be frequently ridiculous, mildly captivating, and occasionally repetitive, pocked by moments of goofiness that come from the runoff of a man eager to chase old miseries and find new ones to berate.
  6. Uncut
    Mar 26, 2020
    60
    Moments of sweetness. ... But there are other, less successful experiments. [May 2020, p.31]
  7. Q Magazine
    Mar 16, 2020
    60
    It finds Morrissey wandering down some interesting musical avenues. [May 2020, p.109]
  8. 60
    Few giant leaps nail the perfect landing, and Morrissey’s two-footer into full-blown electronica stumbles occasionally. But there’s also plenty of reason to hold your political nose and cross the Twittermob line.
  9. 40
    I Am Not a Dog has its moments, but they are brief and virtually lost amid the more experimental forays.
  10. Mar 20, 2020
    40
    Oleaginous and rasping, Morrissey is often lost among the strident music as he hectors people afraid to be themselves.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 24
  2. Negative: 2 out of 24
  1. Mar 20, 2020
    10
    Morissey's best release since 2004's 'You Are the Quarry', Morrissey delves into the experimental with this album focusing on synths and evenMorissey's best release since 2004's 'You Are the Quarry', Morrissey delves into the experimental with this album focusing on synths and even electric drums. It has a nice Classic R&B influence and features a duet on "Bobby Don't You Think They'd Know" which makes a nice Soul track. The use of horns in this album are also reminiscent of 2014's "World Peace Is None Of Your Business". The lyrics are very Morrissey, but contrary to what media is saying, it isn't that all political. All in all, Morrissey is trying to get your attention with this album, and he's making a nice move to a 21st Century Sound. I suggest listening to the entire album, because stand-alone, the tracks seem out of place. Full Review »
  2. Mar 21, 2020
    8
    I generally love Morrissey's solo work when it's at it's most jaunty and rockabilly inspired and am not a big fan of electronica. Having saidI generally love Morrissey's solo work when it's at it's most jaunty and rockabilly inspired and am not a big fan of electronica. Having said that, even though 'I Am Not...' is a big departure for him musically if not lyrically, it works really well for the most part. Keep 'em coming Moz! Full Review »
  3. Mar 26, 2020
    10
    This album is a great comback in my opinion! Just like when "Quarry" came in 2004 I get the impression that Morrissey is doing his best workThis album is a great comback in my opinion! Just like when "Quarry" came in 2004 I get the impression that Morrissey is doing his best work when he can be the underdog. When pushed into a corner, when he is more misunderstood than ever, when ppl is convinced that he is over.
    Absolutely brilliant!
    Full Review »