User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
Intercepted Message Image

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 5 Ratings

  • Summary: This is the 27th full-length studio release from John Dwyer's Osees.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Uncut
    Aug 18, 2023
    This is the most approachable and therefore unexpected Osees album for some years. [Sep 2023, p.32]
  2. Classic Rock Magazine
    Aug 29, 2023
    Another cracking album. [Sep 2023, p.80]
  3. Aug 18, 2023
    This record is both a rocket and a time machine, fusing influences so thoroughly that the sum of their parts are barely discernible, and offering both comfort in the familiar and an escape from our current time it hurtles you into orbit.
  4. The Wire
    Sep 6, 2023
    The 27th OSEES album is their most synthheavy yet, but those Blurt-like grooves are still in place and the songwriting is still tight as a gnat’s chuff on a record that in typical Osees style ranges all over the shop from new wave to skronk to punk to disco. [Oct 2023, p.56]
  5. Nov 15, 2023
    Overall, it’s another great record from a peerless band that, year after year, reinvent themselves. And, each time, they deliver the goods.
  6. Aug 18, 2023
    On Intercepted Message he's filled the music with enough frantic energy and lyrical urgency that this clearly comes from his musical imagination, even if it explores new territory, and as a loving re-creation of the futuristic sounds of the past, it's well worth a listen.
  7. Aug 29, 2023
    The best songs will be welcome additions to their live repertoire; it’s already riveting to watch them play these songs at full dual drummer power. But the threads that bind these songs are loose and inconsistent.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of