Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
Buy On
  1. 80
    These five tracks climax with ‘Hypnotised’, a solemn country swooner resembling John Lennon’s ‘Mother’, easily their best barnstorming ballad since ‘Fix You’. It’s heartening evidence that Coldplay haven’t entirely been sucked into the machinery while trying to subvert pop music from within.
  2. Jul 26, 2017
    70
    Titled after a soothing interlude from the band's 2015 LP, A Head Full of Dreams, this five-song EP continues that album's mood of tranquil satisfaction.
  3. Jul 21, 2017
    70
    Within these five tracks, Coldplay touch upon various contemporary trends in EDM, R&B, and rock without abandoning their identity, and thereby they are fleet and clever, not relics.
  4. Jul 18, 2017
    70
    It’s encouraging to hear Coldplay finally tackle something timely and weighty, even if’s taken 17 years for them to do so. Kaleidoscope’s other two offerings aren’t quite as essential, but are still worthy of taking a spot on one of the band’s seven studio efforts.
  5. Aug 3, 2017
    60
    This EP is nothing but on-brand, however; euphoric emotion, an earnest, universal message and a coating of tacky charm.
  6. Jul 18, 2017
    58
    Kaleidoscope isn’t going to kickstart Coldplay’s critical reappraisal, nor does it deserve to. But it rewards those of us who’ve stuck around with a few songs that capture the band at its best.
  7. Jul 21, 2017
    50
    There’s no story to be told, just a small collection of tunes, some of which work beautifully, some of which fall utterly flat.
  8. Jul 18, 2017
    10
    The release’s awkward format and patronizing presentation are among the least of its poor qualities: Even for the heads, Kaleidoscope offers very little not already heard elsewhere. ... In addition to the previously mentioned Chainsmokers pair-up, there is the very ungainly Big Sean feature “Miracles (Something Special),” which, wearing more than a few embarrassing, auto-generated reverential name-drops.
User Score
7.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 65
  2. Negative: 10 out of 65
  1. Jul 26, 2017
    10
    The EP is a true roller coaster of emotions, a beautiful complement of a head Full of Dreams (2015). But in the wrong way of other reviews, weThe EP is a true roller coaster of emotions, a beautiful complement of a head Full of Dreams (2015). But in the wrong way of other reviews, we must understand that Kaleidoscope is not a bad EP, it is simply an EP that understands its boundaries, but it makes it beautiful with the little it has. Full Review »
  2. Jul 24, 2017
    10
    excited for their next sound all/5 /5. I love how they are mixing the old complay with the new coldplay. It sounds refreshing yet similar atexcited for their next sound all/5 /5. I love how they are mixing the old complay with the new coldplay. It sounds refreshing yet similar at the same time. They need to explore more of a new fresh sound yet still sound like the coldlplay we all love Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2017
    10
    Amazing EP,

    Best track : All i Can Think About Is You. A L I E N S and All I Can Think About Is You are one of best Coldplay tracks.
    Amazing EP,

    Best track : All i Can Think About Is You.

    A L I E N S and All I Can Think About Is You are one of best Coldplay tracks. Like old Coldplay.

    Miracles (Someone Special): They're featured with Big Sean. This collaboration is better than another track Something Just Like This

    Something Just Like This (Tokyo Remix) : This is not original Something Just Like This. This is live version of Something Just Like This. Original song is too much from The Chainsmokers. In this version Coldplay owned this song by own performance, fans, audience.

    Hypnotised: Another masterpiece track. EP mix has included opening intro. Feeling relaxing.
    Full Review »