Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Spin
    83
    Only later do you realize the cotton candy you've been enjoying is wrapped around a dildo. [Nov 2004, p.118]
  2. A worthy endeavour from one of the most important bands alive.
  3. While The Smell of Our Own sounded joyful even when wiping pee out of its eyes, there is a note of anger throughout Mississauga Goddam.
  4. Mojo
    80
    Gibb's voice--not to mention his lyrical outlook--is endearingly astringent. [Aug 2004, p.98]
  5. Under The Radar
    80
    Perverted or not, the lyrics are hardly noticeable when used in such a beautiful melodic context. [#8, p.110]
  6. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    Portrays a conflicted inner life of sexuality and spirituality that would make Mel Gibson cringe. [24 Dec 2004, p.66]
  7. Even though Mississauga Goddamn isn't completely without flaw -- some of Gibb's lyrical and compositional choices are pretty obvious, for one thing -- it allows you, for a little while, at least, to escape from the everyday world.
  8. With Gibbs' nasal, cabaret-ready vocals drifting unobtrusively through the warm instrumental soup, most listeners could hum along happily without realizing that they're enjoying a song that celebrates soiled underwear.
  9. To revise a debut with only a slightly more effective result is nevertheless disappointing for all of their fans awaiting an album as moving as their live show.
  10. Uncut
    70
    Occasionally, the sunniness and repetition of the songs can be exhausting, despite the provocative semiotic games Gibb is playing. [Aug 2004, p.100]
  11. A more straightforwardly uplifting listen.
  12. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    It's frustrating, because when they quit mucking about, The Hidden Cameras have the power to produce songs that tickle your heart. [10 Jul 2004, p.49]
  13. The clever hyper-sexuality of his lyrics mixed with the fife and glockenspiel of his glad rag arrangements makes for a fey giddiness that's altogether too rare these days.
  14. There's a newfound sense of poignancy that overrides much of Mississauga's patchwork nihilism.
  15. Despite the strength of "Music Is My Boyfriend" and lush single "The Fear Is On", I continually find myself humming songs from the debut instead.
  16. Alternative Press
    50
    The songs last twice as long as they should. [Dec 2004, p.152]
  17. Q Magazine
    40
    Gibb's style is frustratingly monotonic. [Sep 2004, p.119]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. RudigerS
    Feb 18, 2005
    10
    It's very good.
  2. JoeH
    Feb 9, 2005
    10
    I'm surprised by the low critic scores. It took me a while to get this album, but after playing a few tracks on my radio show I wanted I'm surprised by the low critic scores. It took me a while to get this album, but after playing a few tracks on my radio show I wanted it. I can't compare it to their debut album, as I have not heard it, but this album is pop bliss. I smile and sing when I play this CD. I would not allow myself to write something so cheesy for any other band that I like right now. I believe in the good of the Hiddren Cameras. Full Review »
  3. susol
    Oct 4, 2004
    9
    fantástico!! un disco lleno de hits... y de buen rollo!!