User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Roach Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Summary: The second full-length release from Los Angeles singer-songwriter Miya Folick features contributions by Max Hershenow, Mike Malchicoff, Mitski, and Gabe Wax.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jun 5, 2023
    Roach is a brutally honest and brave interrogation of self, a struggle powered by Folick’s towering vocals as she plunders the depths of her psyche, in songs that confidently straddle taut indie rock and mainstream pop, illuminating both.
  2. Jun 5, 2023
    Rays of light shine through on the glitzy, sparkling "So Clear," where she realizes after "ten thousand days" — as in, the late-twenties — fucking up is necessary to incite change. At this point, Folick looks back at the first half of the album with a fresh, wisened perspective. In doing so, it feels euphoric to see the extent of her growth.
  3. Jun 5, 2023
    Like a hangover, ‘Roach’ lulls around in this contemplation in the dusky corners of a rough Sunday morning, yet it remains laced with a little intoxication: experimental production hides behind its corners, making ‘Roach’ a little more interesting. And elsewhere there exists moments where sunlight cracks through the drawn curtains.
  4. Jun 5, 2023
    Despite their detailed imagery and alluring melodies, the songs on Roach are ultimately less complex than Folick’s earlier work.
  5. 70
    Miya Folick orbits and sometimes grasps something transcendent about living through unprecedented times on ROACH.