• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Symphonica Image

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 8 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Artist(s): Symphonica Air Orchestra
  • Summary: A collection of ten covers and seven original songs from the pop singer's 2011-12 orchestral tour.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 17, 2014
    An unadventurous set list reworks some of his most thoughtful and sombre songs with a selection of classic covers, all given a lush production gloss by the late Phil Ramone. What lifts it to a higher plane is Michael’s smooth and expressive singing.
  2. Q Magazine
    Mar 17, 2014
    Symphonica feels supper-club safe. [Apr 2014, p.103]
  3. Mar 17, 2014
    To be fair, he can croon the stuffing out of the most well-worn covers (Brother Can You Spare a Dime is a searingly emotional trip through several octaves), but it's at the expense of spontaneity.
  4. Mar 18, 2014
    A swank live set of classic makeout ballads.
  5. Apr 1, 2014
    Michael is in good form but he's coasting, doing no more than he needs to, satisfying fans without surprising.
  6. Apr 30, 2014
    Symphonica certainly offers a heady, luxurious soirée, proving genuinely moving in parts, but it’s also quite exhausting and yes, occasionally bewildering.
  7. There’s no getting around the fact that his versions of “Feeling Good” or “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” pale compared to those of Nina Simone and Roberta Flack.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Dec 14, 2020
    I still have to watch a more perfect live performer than #GeorgeMichael incredible talent.
  2. Apr 17, 2014
    Comprising a blend of familiar standards and George's own compositions, the tracks are given lush reworkings and together with Phil RamonesComprising a blend of familiar standards and George's own compositions, the tracks are given lush reworkings and together with Phil Ramones production, float serenely towards you. Having heard most of what is included here before, I am still engaged by the album and for George Michael fans at least, it is a compelling and valuable addition to the library. There are not many artists that have the style or talent George has and its showcased to great effect here. My favourites include the Terence Trent Darby penned Let Her Down Easy, perhaps for its relative freshness as much as its beautifully sparse piano/string arrangement. The band and George also get to stretch their legs on Feeling Good giving a mid album lift to the set. Negatives for me include the production on some of the tracks where a push on the upper frequencies has left the vocals sounding a little sibilant - I am being picky though and I have noticed this on George's material before, so maybe he just likes it like this. As a whole it errs on the safe side and as I have already said, there is not much here that will be unfamiliar to many listeners. Having said that, its an enormously enjoyable listen shot through with beauty and feeling from one of the most talented artists we have. Expand