• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Sep 3, 2013
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
Buy On
  1. 91
    One of the most purely enjoyable albums of the year, powered by her lithe, Broadway-honed voice and a canny exploitation of her most "adult" indulgence: nostalgia.
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    86
    Ariana Grande's debut LP is a surprisingly varied affair for a 20-year-old Nickelodeon star with a devastatingly strong voice.
  3. Sep 12, 2013
    80
    Minor missteps aside, Yours Truly is ultimately an impressive debut for Grande.
  4. 80
    [A] surprisingly strong album.
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    80
    Thankfully, Grande has the chops to pull it off, and Yours Truly makes the most of her talent.
  6. 75
    This might be the most inviting pop record of 2013, with a bubbly ebullience that makes even its most familiar moves feel fresh.
  7. Yours Truly is more tempered and less likely to put you in a beaming state of catatonia.
  8. Sep 25, 2013
    70
    A relatively safe debut where much of the takeaway is the salivating at Grande’s potential.
  9. Sep 23, 2013
    65
    Yours Truly is a very safe record. Mostly written by two of R&B's most mawkish hawkers, Babyface and Harmony Samuels, it’s built on cliché and tradition, and written professionally to a fault.
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 977 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Ariana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I everAriana Grande first debut is spetacular, a strong album with great songs and Ariana's powerful voice make this one of the best album I ever listening this year so far. Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    This girl is definitely one of the greatest talents that entered the biz in a long, long time! And the amazing thing is that, instead ofThis girl is definitely one of the greatest talents that entered the biz in a long, long time! And the amazing thing is that, instead of wasting that incredible voice on the bubblegum pop most people her age do nowadays, she decided to bring that late-90's urban/R&B/soul feeling back to the charts, and I think we're all grateful for that! And yes, her vocal-style and songs do remind me of Mariah sometimes, but do you guys really see that as a bad thing? Full Review »
  3. May 19, 2016
    10
    Ariana Grande's debut album is simply amazing. This album showcases Grande's strong voice and contains "catchy" pop songs infused with RnB.Ariana Grande's debut album is simply amazing. This album showcases Grande's strong voice and contains "catchy" pop songs infused with RnB. The Way and Piano are two amazing "bops", while Tattooed Heart, Baby I, Almost Is Never Enough lets Grande boast her powerful voice. Full Review »