• Record Label: G.O.O.D.
  • Release Date: Jan 17, 2020
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Jan 17, 2020
    83
    She took her time, creating a project that shows how much she absorbed between then and now; in fact, Modus Vivendi is the marrow she sucked out of her experience.
  2. Q Magazine
    Feb 11, 2020
    80
    While not every idea feels as flesh out, Modus Vivendi teases a talented artist trying something genuinely new. [Apr 2020, p.105]
  3. Feb 10, 2020
    80
    Ultimately, Shake carves out poetic tranquility in the entropy of her messy relationship, showing her audience the art of Modus Vivendi — or the peaceful coexistence of conflicting forces.
  4. Jan 21, 2020
    80
    Though at times songs and sentiments blur a little forgettably, this is an impressive statement of intent.
  5. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    Although ‘Modus Vivendi’ has oodles of instant appeal, the minute the rule book is thrown out the window, Shake is at the top her game.
  6. 80
    Throughout this record, 070 Shake paints vivid – and often uncomfortable, or jarring – pictures, and it’s all on her own terms.
  7. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    While it can often go dark, the vibe is empathic; Shake’s said the record was designed to comfort, and counter hate.
  8. Jan 17, 2020
    80
    It’s a Mantovani-style soundscape heard in a sensory deprivation salt tank. It’s just as home in a ‘head’s collection as it is in a New Age retreat or if you prefer, at Sunday Service.
  9. Jan 21, 2020
    73
    Modus is essentially the antithesis of the half-baked works that arose from Kanye’s Wyoming sessions in 2018. It is the result of a handful of talented collaborators who provide enough eclecticism to balance out the bombastic sound of G.O.O.D. in-house producer Mike Dean.
  10. Jan 17, 2020
    60
    While Shake occasionally excels at crafting musical gems out of dark paranoia, her themes are stretched somewhat thin over the course of the whole record and on some tracks she ends up sounding listless.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 67 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 67
  2. Negative: 4 out of 67
  1. Jan 21, 2020
    9
    070 Shakes cements herself as an artist to watch with "Modus Vivendi." I went into this album not knowing what to expect as this was my first070 Shakes cements herself as an artist to watch with "Modus Vivendi." I went into this album not knowing what to expect as this was my first time ever listening to Shakes. I think that the production on this album is phenomenal and the atmosphere surrounding this album is something that I think everyone should experience at least once. It is quite early in the year, but I can definitely see this making my top albums of the year by year's end. A fantastic debut album. Full Review »
  2. Jan 20, 2020
    10
    This album was honestly a work of art. The production was flawless and incorporated several retro-sounding elements which just adds to theThis album was honestly a work of art. The production was flawless and incorporated several retro-sounding elements which just adds to the greatness of this album. A skipless album. Full Review »
  3. Jan 18, 2020
    8
    Modus Vivendi is a captivating, dark, yet sweet debut album. Really enjoyable sonically thanks to the production from Mike Dean, lyricism isModus Vivendi is a captivating, dark, yet sweet debut album. Really enjoyable sonically thanks to the production from Mike Dean, lyricism is very much there, and overall a worthwhile listen. Full Review »