• Record Label: Geffen
  • Release Date: Nov 16, 2004
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 17
  2. Negative: 2 out of 17
  1. A little bit less filler and the album would have really lived up to its name.
  2. The album does maintain enough of a hard edge to keep Snoop from going TOO soft.
  3. Rhythm and Gangster is right up there with his best while being riskier than anything before it.
  4. Snoop Dogg remains as relevant and rambunctious as ever.
  5. Los Angeles Times
    75
    It sure sounds good. [21 Nov 2004]
  6. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    If you don't mind flicking the fast-forward, there's enough hot shizzle to keep you returning for more. [20 Nov 2004, p.57]
  7. Isn't quite as infectious as the last one, "Paid tha Cost to Be tha Bo$$," because the hooks aren't as grabby and the jokes aren't as funny. But there's plenty to love. [22 Nov 2004]
  8. [A] slick, silly and thoroughly entertaining album.
  9. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    It's as if he's making cameos in his own songs. [3 Dec 2004, p.87]
  10. R&G begs for a little more R and some cleverer G -- or, if Snoop really wanted to be bold, no G at all.
  11. Blender
    60
    His flirtations are mostly asinine, autopilot-Lothario stuff... but his voice is, as always, a hypnotic melt of menace and charisma. [Dec 2004, p.145]
  12. An average addition to the catalogue.
  13. R&G is about seven to eight tracks overweight, but appearances from Nelly, 50 cent and the album's closer won't disappoint.
  14. As always, Snoop oozes charisma, and he possesses one of rap's most irresistible voices, but R&G makes it clearer than ever that he has nothing to say, no matter how infectiously he says it.
  15. The Neptunes have lent their Midas fingers on production duties, but they've gone their schmaltzy route rather than into party bangers mode.
  16. R&G has a unified sound, rare in hip-hop albums, but it's a sound based on tinkly pianos and noodly guitars and windchimes. It sounds something like The Black Eyed Peas if they tried to make a Barry White album, but with more falsetto warbling.
  17. A sad stab at gimmicky duets with Justin Timberlake and obnoxious production by The Neptunes.
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 34
  2. Negative: 2 out of 34
  1. Feb 29, 2016
    5
    as a big fan of snoop dogg i must say only a few tracks on here caught my interest. i found myself skipping over alot of tracks. not aas a big fan of snoop dogg i must say only a few tracks on here caught my interest. i found myself skipping over alot of tracks. not a terrible effort. but not the best either. Full Review »
  2. Max
    May 21, 2005
    8
    really good CD, but i dont get the beat of "fresh pair of panties on" its a good, but confusing song.
  3. bradb
    Mar 6, 2005
    7
    pretty goos cd. nice beats and production by the neptunes. just a note - Snoop was born in 1971, which makes him 34 not fourty something.