• Record Label: Fiction
  • Release Date: Jan 10, 2020
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Jan 13, 2020
    80
    By considering themes such as love, social injustice and all round perseverance, it is both mature and engaging. The Big Moon are constantly breathing new life into a genre which sometimes runs stale. For that we should be eternally grateful.
  2. Jan 10, 2020
    80
    Jackson is empathetic and spirited as she sings about her fears of being left behind. But the Big Moon’s sharp update ensures they won’t be.
  3. Jan 10, 2020
    80
    With strong tunes, great vocals and a spring in their step, The Big Moon are not struggling for a creative spark – far from it.
  4. 80
    They’ve certainly made interesting, bolder leaps than before with this second record. We’re ready to jump in again.
  5. 80
    Certain songs work better than others: “Dog Eat Dog” tries to tackle social injustice but lacks real bite; “Don’t Think”, though, has all the swagger and defiance of vintage Blondie. Most impressive is how much more confident The Big Moon sound as a band.
  6. Q Magazine
    Jan 9, 2020
    80
    More expansive, darker and that much more intriguing. [Feb 2020, p.109]
  7. Jan 9, 2020
    80
    Walking Like We Do is expansive lyrically, thematically and sonically, touching on social inequality and frustration with the current political and societal climate.
  8. 80
    The results may be a bit odd and unfashionable, but one of the great pleasures of Walking Like We Do is that it simply could not have been made by anyone other than The Big Moon.
  9. Jan 10, 2020
    78
    The Big Moon demonstrate both musical and lyrical versatility on Walking Like We Do. It might seem like a predictable move for a guitar band to unleash a keyboard-heavy album number two, but unlike other bands who have deployed this method, they don’t go so far down the wormhole that they lose their original appeal.
  10. 70
    Taken on its own merits, Walking Like We Do is an unmitigated success, and a timely reminder of the simplicity of youth.
  11. Jan 9, 2020
    68
    Walking Like We Do has moments of thoughtless escapism—and a couple of earnest bum notes—but it comes into its own when it blends humor with darkness, suffusing everything with gentle, sarcastic nihilism.
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 13 out of 34
  1. Jan 10, 2020
    9
    Walking Like We Do is the Big Moon's second album but with such brilliant harmonies, carefree sounds, and modern songwriting, it doesnt show.Walking Like We Do is the Big Moon's second album but with such brilliant harmonies, carefree sounds, and modern songwriting, it doesnt show. Your Light is a prime example of a well written song for the new era of rock. The album has turn arounds, angelic harmonies, and guitar/piano hooks that get you addicted. Looking forward to this band getting bigger and doing a world tour. A band to look out for. Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    A masterpiece !!! She did a really good job. Every song on this album is perfect.
  3. Jan 11, 2020
    0
    This absolutely sucked. I'd NEVER listen to this again. Just horrible, I'm sorry.