Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy On
  1. Sep 10, 2015
    80
    With relative ease, What The World Needs Now... can be placed aside the likes of the 80s influenced 2012 release This Is PiL. The second half of the album is the most interesting musically; it displays a set of songs built around cluttered instruments, rhythms and animalistic noises, but cluttered only to the conditioned ears of the modern listener.
  2. 80
    Well-delivered and exhilaratingly fun.
  3. 80
    What The World Needs Now builds on This Is PiL in just about every way, taking the band in new directions while remaining rooted in the sound that PiL invented so long ago. For those who thought the band's 2012 return album was a one-shot burst, you're dead wrong, and you're lucky you are.
  4. 80
    What The World Needs Now... continues where 2012’s This Is PiL left off.
  5. Mojo
    Aug 26, 2015
    80
    A record of disarming directness. [Oct 2015, p.89]
  6. Q Magazine
    Aug 26, 2015
    80
    The main impression is of a unique voice still raging. [Oct 2015, p.113]
  7. Sep 8, 2015
    70
    If Lydon's decision to revive Public Image Ltd. seemed curious at first, with What the World Needs Now, the group has a firmly established new personality that suits its leader well, and finds him making strong and engaging music again after many fans wrote him off as a spent force.
  8. Sep 3, 2015
    70
    It’s an altogether bolder and more varied effort than This Is PiL--making this probably the best set to bear the band’s name since 1985’s Album.
  9. Sep 3, 2015
    70
    It may never swing people's perceptions, but these 11 funk-stained numbers prove John Lydon is still as relevant and necessary as he has ever been.
  10. Sep 2, 2015
    70
    By the time you reach the where-is-that-nicked-from riff of “I’m Not Satisfied,” it’s clear this is Lydon’s most listenable record in 30 years, though Album was a lot more fun and “Shoom,” the catchiest thing here, ain’t “Rise.”
  11. The Wire
    Sep 1, 2015
    70
    The new sound is taut and spare.[Sep 2015, p.50]
  12. 70
    Yes, PiL have made better records. But it’s nice to know John Lydon still cares enough to rage.
  13. Uncut
    Aug 26, 2015
    70
    Lydon remains a devout pop modernist. [Oct 2015, p.81]
  14. Sep 15, 2015
    68
    The moments when the music matches the intensity of Lydon’s singing are exhilarating.... Other mid-tempo tunes on What the World Needs Now don’t fare as well.
  15. Sep 10, 2015
    60
    It’s noticeably similar to 2012’s This Is PiL--and for a truly engaged evisceration of the establishment, you’d currently do better with Sleaford Mods.
  16. Sep 8, 2015
    60
    What the World Needs Now… still has punch and variety.
  17. Sep 4, 2015
    60
    Despite the missteps it’s What the World Needs Now’s ability to sound energised and fresh which makes it an album that you can’t dismiss.
  18. Aug 26, 2015
    60
    It’s a sturdy, muscular affair wherein Lydon rants energetically about everything from blocked toilets to Botox and the iCloud, on quintessentially cranky, ruck-friendly fare such as Double Trouble and I’m Not Satisfied.
  19. 50
    On pretty much every track, the instrumentation is formulaic and predictable.
  20. Sep 3, 2015
    40
    What The World Needs Now... is solid proof that reformations never sound good on record.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 2 more ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 5, 2015
    4
    WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW... BY PUBLIC IMAGE LTD.
    Rating:48/100
    Favourite Tracks:There wasn't any standout tracks so I'd say probably the
    WHAT THE WORLD NEEDS NOW... BY PUBLIC IMAGE LTD.
    Rating:48/100
    Favourite Tracks:There wasn't any standout tracks so I'd say probably the first song 'Double Trouble' because I wasn't bored at that point
    Least Favourite Tracks:Spice of Choice,Big Blue Sky
    John Rotten really just rambles and rants about anything on here and most of the time he just loses me, often because what he's saying is really insignificant or uninteresting. I liked the idea of "Bettie Page" but it wasn't really pulled off in a funny way. As for the instrumentation...it's pretty much sounding the same as old PIL except it's less experimental and it's been polished with modern production which ultimately makes it sound like an uninteresting attempt to relive the golden days of PIL. It really does drone on. I guess this was to be expected I have huge respect for John Lydon but I realise at this point he's not trying too hard to make amazing albums, just an album he likes that he had fun making. That's cool with me. If you're a hardcore fan of the band you'll want this album even if it's just to complete your collection or to hear John Lydon is still kicking.
    Will I Come Back To It:No
    Full Review »