Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Oct 5, 2020
    80
    Overflowing with confidence, Jisoo, Jennie, Rosé, and Lisa conquer each track on The Album with their vocal ability (both singing and rapping) and effortless charm, switching up styles to offer something for every type of fan.
  2. Oct 2, 2020
    80
    Brevity works in The Album’s favour. There’s no time for longueurs, no padding, no ponderous ballads. ... Striking, glittery, depthless and rather impressive.
  3. 80
    It is only eight songs and comes in under 25 minutes long, yet it packs more hooks than a whaling armada. It is short, punchy and sweet enough to cause tooth rot, every moment crammed with crafted earworms and swaggering beats.
  4. Oct 2, 2020
    70
    If there’s one downside to the album, it’s that it’s too short. At just eight tracks, the high has barely kicked in before the party is over, and The Album leaves you wanting more: more grit, more experimentation, and yes, more than eight songs.
  5. Oct 5, 2020
    67
    The Album showcases their signature style of blending genres and influences to create songs that are just as classically pop as they are identifiably BLACKPINK.
  6. Oct 6, 2020
    60
    Crammed chockfull of crowd-pleasing EDM pyrotechnics and cheeky one-liners, The Album is undeniably a product of a well-oiled, state-of-the-art pop machine, but it feels stuck looking back to tried and true trends in both K-pop and Western pop music.
  7. 50
    “Ice Cream,” the song with Gomez, is the most gratifyingly stylish track here. ... [The Album] plays like a transmission from a previous era. “Crazy Over You,” with its airy wind-instrument sample, rewinds even further to the hip-hop exotica of Timbaland’s late-’90s heyday. ... There’s something vaguely oppressive about “The Album.”
  8. Oct 2, 2020
    48
    There is roughly an EP worth of songs here that bring something remotely interesting to the table, rather than simply rehashing past ideas and reproducing beats you’ve heard in 100 other tracks before.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 2376 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. so good, omg, blackpink supremacy! blackpink is the group of our generation! only that Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2020
    10
    Very refreshing the girls até stunning in everything.
    Rap, singing and the other things that I don't remembrer now. ♥️♥️♥️
  3. Oct 2, 2020
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. one of the best albums i ever heard, from beginning to end it kept me in a mountain of emotions, i had never fallen in love with a complete album, from the first to the last song, congrats my beautiful pinks Full Review »