• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
As Long as You Are Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The sixth full-length studio release for the Baltimore band is its first as a quartet with drummer Mike Lowry and was produced with Steve Wright.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Oct 9, 2020
    They’re constantly trying to better themselves, and provide their listeners with new ways of looking at old feelings. As Long As You Are is an endlessly rewarding listen, and it’s certainly worth the wait.
  2. Oct 9, 2020
    An album that pays tribute to the past while emotionally resonant and sonically thrilling.
  3. Oct 13, 2020
    It’s a listening experience that’s as satisfying and rewarding as those aforementioned records. With a band as assured and stylistically unique as Future Islands, a choice to stay in their lane can only mean more good things.
  4. 75
    This latest record delivers everything we’ve come to expect from the Baltimore-based band — plucky synths, drama-dripping vocals, and a well-rounded backdrop of sound that sounds like something out of an outer-space orchestra, rather than something mixed over Zoom.
  5. Oct 6, 2020
    Future Islands' landscapes of sound are more intricately detailed here than they have been before. Their poetic angst has matured into something more subdued and dripping with acceptance. As Long as You Are feels, in a way, like the band coming home to itself.
  6. Mojo
    Oct 6, 2020
    Despite no huge leaps forward sonically, there are some fantastic scenes set to song. [Nov 2020, p.83]
  7. Oct 9, 2020
    Herring’s blessed baritone vocals teamed with their trademark bittersweet synth and hefty baselines will continue to make for decent, honest albums for as long as the four-piece please, but the introduction of a faster, lighter tempo in tracks like ‘The Painter’ and ‘Hit The Coast’ could mark the beginning of a much-needed dive into uncharted musical waters.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Oct 11, 2020
    Word's can't describe the feeling this album evokes in me. A true masterpiece and nothing less.
  2. Oct 9, 2020
    Thumping baselines, swirling synths and Sam’s vocals- what’s not to like? Absolutely brilliant.
  3. Oct 9, 2020
    I suggest that music journalists (namely the one from the Independent) undergo some retraining. In this particular person's case may I suggestI suggest that music journalists (namely the one from the Independent) undergo some retraining. In this particular person's case may I suggest they study ornithology... there is no such thing as a seagull and this is a great album! Expand
  4. Oct 21, 2020
    Great album from start to finish. Sounds almost to beautiful to be from 2020! Wonderful work in a terrible year.