• Record Label: Because
  • Release Date: May 4, 2015
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. May 5, 2015
    82
    Born Under Saturn proves Django Django still has all their ducks in a row three years after their debut self-titled record. They’re still making music as well-suited to dance clubs as to solitary psychedelic journeying.
  2. May 6, 2015
    80
    Born Under Saturn sounds like what it probably is: a bunch of smart musicians having a great time.
  3. May 5, 2015
    80
    There’s joyous invention at work here, along with nagging hooks which bury themselves deeper with every play.
  4. May 4, 2015
    80
    Between its laid-back vocals, surf guitar and stomping percussion, Born Under Saturn makes a strong claim to being your ideal beach or road trip companion this summer.
  5. May 4, 2015
    80
    There are no outright clunkers in the mix, but a light trim would have further distilled the power of this excellent sophomore release.
  6. May 4, 2015
    80
    Born Under Saturn is a record so vivid it threatens to become visual.
  7. Apr 30, 2015
    80
    If there’s one criticism, it’s of its length--54 minutes feels like 10 too many for an album whose impact is doubled when the songs punch their way into your attention.
  8. Q Magazine
    Apr 29, 2015
    80
    Such is the accessibility of the music here that its myriad stylistic zigzags don't jar, they simply thrill. [Jun 2015, p.104]
  9. Apr 29, 2015
    80
    Born Under Saturn carries on the energy from their debut perfectly. taking steps out into new territory cautiously, but with great reward. [Apr-May 2015, p.82]
  10. Apr 29, 2015
    80
    As Born Under Saturn reaches its final third, the level of consistency remains high, with tracks such as the expansive High Moon and the almost nonchalant Beginning To Fade both worth a mention.
  11. Magnet
    Jun 4, 2015
    70
    A bit more expansive and widescreen, a bit more fleshed out and muscular, but essentially a companion piece to their debut. [No. 120, p.55]
  12. May 15, 2015
    70
    For a band consisting of four members, Born Under Saturn is both remarkably adventurous and eclectic.
  13. May 11, 2015
    70
    Born Under Saturn is an album of ambition, and while the gaffes certainly hold it back, there are enough good ideas crammed in throughout, making the album a worthy trip to a spacey dancehall.
  14. 70
    What remains is a definitively good album, albeit not a great one.
  15. 70
    It definitely ain’t perfect, then, but in concocting a scrubbed-up, carefully wrought maturation of their sound, Born Under Saturn gives us something close to Django Django unchained.
  16. May 7, 2015
    60
    The album is executed slickly enough that this lack of cohesion isn't a huge problem. The goofy lyrics, though, owe too much to the hippy-dippy era.
  17. 60
    Songs such as Beginning to Fade maintain Django Django’s easy pop touch. Much of the rest, though, is merely good filler rather than truly great floor-filler.
  18. 58
    Born Under Saturn is only intermittently gripping. Certain tracks feel heavily procedural and oddly joyless given the album’s lighthearted tone.
  19. May 5, 2015
    56
    The busy arrangements and serious frontloading make Born Under Saturn’s 54 minutes a demanding investment, and the effort it takes to simply get any sort of visceral pleasure out of it makes it feel twice as long.
  20. May 7, 2015
    50
    Stylistically, Born Under Saturn is an unfortunate step backward for a promising, unique artist.
  21. Uncut
    Apr 29, 2015
    50
    The sense of fun has dissipated on Born Under Saturn, an hour of faintly psychedelic heads-down boogie. [Jun 2015, p.75]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. May 27, 2015
    6
    After such an amazing debut you'd expect Django Django to release something, well, just as amazing. Instead they released Born Under Saturn,After such an amazing debut you'd expect Django Django to release something, well, just as amazing. Instead they released Born Under Saturn, which is in no way bad, rather it is simply sub-par when compared to their earlier work. This album seems to fit more aptly as an EP of b-sides from their debut sessions, with a very similar sound this album doesn't really do anything interesting or captivating, they seem to be following a formula for their music; and while that has worked in the past it is simply getting bland, Django Django needs to add some new sounds to their repertoire of synths. This album is still very fun to listen to, certainly worth checking out - just a little underwhelming as a follow up. Full Review »
  2. May 22, 2015
    9
    I'll admit it: when I read a negative or mixed review of an album I enjoy, it sometimes makes me reconsider a bit. Maybe I was too obliviousI'll admit it: when I read a negative or mixed review of an album I enjoy, it sometimes makes me reconsider a bit. Maybe I was too oblivious to how derivative it was, or maybe my overall taste in music is flat out not that great- I will think to myself. Yes, this is somewhat pathetic, but I think it's probably a normal human psychological response.

    I mention this tendency of mine because in the case of Born Under Saturn (and the kinda muted critical reaction to it), my response has been uncharacteristic: I simply do not give a **** what anyone else says. This album has some of the catchiest, most beautiful and playful hooks and harmonies of anything I've heard in recent memory, and all I feel is gratitude that I can listen to it whenever I want. If you're on the fence about giving this a listen, don't listen to the whiny hipsters on Pitchfork and the like and just go for it.

    To be entirely fair, not every track here is a homerun. But worst tracks here are fine, just not that catchy or memorable. There are lots of highlights, however. My favorites: "Shake And Tremble", "Found You", "Reflections", "Break The Glass", and "Life We Know"
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 5, 2016
    8
    The touches of brilliance on this album and a couple of sublime songs more than compensate for the less successful tracks. When it reallyThe touches of brilliance on this album and a couple of sublime songs more than compensate for the less successful tracks. When it really works (Shake and Tremble, Pause Repeat, Beginning to Fade, 4000 Years), and the lads reel in their odd bit of aural self-indulgence, the blending of genres is masterful. It's like Brian Wilson and Van Dyke Parks time-travelled to Manchester in the 90s, and hooked up with a Devo covers band. Give it a listen. Why ? Because I, anonymous internet reviewer, say so. Full Review »