• Record Label: Epitaph
  • Release Date: Oct 29, 2013
Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Dec 2, 2013
    60
    All songs are played relatively straight--nary a jingle bell in earshot--which is a good choice, as it offsets the devotional aspects of more traditional carols like ‘O Come All Ye Faithful’ and ‘Angels We Have Heard On High’.
  2. Nov 21, 2013
    60
    Bad Religion’s Christmas album is one of the most unusual in recent memory.
  3. 60
    Christmas Songs is a fun enough, but ultimately non-essential piece of the Bad Religion canon.
  4. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    Rather than subverting culture, the band goes one step further, subverting the expectations of listeners by performing the songs without irony. Most surprising, however, is how well these songs work with Bad Religion's driving and melodic style and Greg Graffin's distinctive voice.
  5. 50
    The nine tracks here turn to the old-school and the classic, making the carols you sung at school into something better suited to a night doing shots of eggnog in Fat Mike’s shed.
  6. Dec 19, 2013
    50
    Brett Gurewitz’s buzzsaw guitars sound cool, but the blend of punk rock and carols turns out to be too predictable, so you know whether you need to hear this one even without hearing it.
  7. Dec 16, 2013
    40
    As a Bad Religion record, it’s certainly not gold and you won’t be demanding myrrh.
  8. Dec 12, 2013
    40
    It's very much a lump of coal in the stocking.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Dec 7, 2015
    10
    This is about the only Christmas album I like. While it may not be exactly what you are looking for when you go searching for a Bad ReligionThis is about the only Christmas album I like. While it may not be exactly what you are looking for when you go searching for a Bad Religion album, they do a great job of translating their style to the holiday genre. Full Review »
  2. Nov 27, 2016
    10
    One of my favorites come Christmas time. Bad religion knocks it out of the park. I secretly start listening to this in November when i'm in myOne of my favorites come Christmas time. Bad religion knocks it out of the park. I secretly start listening to this in November when i'm in my car so my wife doesn't yell at me! Full Review »
  3. May 21, 2014
    2
    A very bad album, avoid it at all costs. If you're a big fan of this band, I advise to steer clear of it because you'll lose almost all hope for it..