Kankyō Ongaku: Japanese Ambient, Environmental & New Age Music 1980-1990 Image

Universal acclaim - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 12 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The compilation of ambient, avant-garde and new age music made in Japan between 1980 and 1990 known as environmental music features songs by such artists as Satoshi Ashikawa, Joe Hisaishi, Haruomi Hosono, Yoshio Ojima, Ryuichi Sakamoto, and Hiroshi Yoshimura.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Light in the Attic Records
  • Genre(s): Electronic, Ambient, New Age, Avant-Garde, International, Japanese Traditions, Post-Minimalism, Environmental
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Feb 15, 2019
    It is the kind of music you could imagine spending the rest of your life listening to.
  2. Feb 22, 2019
    By showcasing an artistic fusion of the tranquil with the bustling, the primal with the technologically advanced, the compilation shows how much work has already been done to find ways of summarizing and celebrating the potential of this new reality.
  3. Mar 8, 2019
    The collection is a warm, poignant, deeply immersive set that is sure to please fans of the genre but quite honestly belongs in every home. It's that beautiful.
  4. Feb 21, 2019
    This ambient music is not psychedelic. It never evokes outer space or the cosmos or, for that matter, the natural world, even when it uses the sound of water. It’s music for the indoors, music for doing things, there for you if you want to listen closely but also content to exist on a subliminal plane.
  5. Feb 15, 2019
    Both as a listening and reading experience, the entire collection is fascinating and eye-opening, and far more than just pleasant, unassuming musical wallpaper. It's also somewhat overwhelming in a sense, simply because there's far more music from this era to discover, and this release barely scratches the surface.
  6. Mar 13, 2019
    While some of the music drifts a little close to the milky reassurances of New Age music (‘Praying for Mother / Earth Part 1’ places seemingly random plinking notes over the top of rippling running water that challenges the listener to not run to the loo), other tracks, such as ‘Variation – III’ by Masashi Kitamura + Phonogenix, move gorgeous ambient chords around the sound of waves licking the shoreline, a peace punctured occasionally by a chū-daiko drum to wholly peaceful affect. Together, the twenty three tracks here promote a warmth that feels somewhere close to paradise.
  7. The Wire
    Apr 3, 2019
    Like remembering the loading sound of a ZX Spectrum or the incidental music of Teletext, the feel of these tracks provokes an odd nostalgia for equipment, now superseded and obsolete. [Apr 2019, p.72]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Mar 4, 2019
    This instrumental album is a great relaxant. Traditionally and culturally oriented.
  2. May 7, 2019
    Though decades old and assembled by Spencer D. of Visible Cloaks, this experience feels more like a YouTube playlist created by a collegeThough decades old and assembled by Spencer D. of Visible Cloaks, this experience feels more like a YouTube playlist created by a college student trying to study for a final than it does a real album. Which makes this successful in it's vision and purpose. Expand