Metascore
83

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
Buy On
  1. 90
    As The Love Continues sees Mogwai’s voyage into sound progress in a stately manner as tracks like Here We, Here We, Here We Go Forever and the misnomered Fuck Off Money tread an unlikely fine line between waft and heft.
  2. Feb 19, 2021
    90
    It may have taken Mogwai 25 years to open up like this, but it was well worth the wait: As the Love Continues is another peak in their long and influential career.
  3. Uncut
    Feb 17, 2021
    90
    Bristles with the unruly energies that enlivened their younger incarnations. [Mar 2021, p.32]
  4. Feb 17, 2021
    90
    ‘As The Love Continues’ is Mogwai at their best, and is possibly their most consistent record since 2006's ‘Mr Beast’. Their mums should be proud.
  5. Feb 17, 2021
    90
    An album that’s up there with their best, one of their most powerful and cohesive statements to date.
  6. Feb 23, 2021
    80
    A laser-focused record that’s their longest studio album since The Hawk is Howling, but has a lightness of touch that feels nothing of the sort.
  7. Feb 19, 2021
    80
    It's a continuation of their bombastic instrumental rock, adding enough new experiments to keep things interesting, but staying close enough to their well-hewn sound to ensure a cosy familiarity.
  8. Feb 19, 2021
    80
    As the Love Continues is an album of incremental changes and monumental sounds.
  9. Feb 19, 2021
    80
    Mogwai’s attitude towards experimentalism shows in the darker corners, the nooks and crannies of their sound where little glow worms of ideas grow and decay. Elsewhere this is well-orchestrated, subtle and playful, with the confidence to indulge both themselves and the audience.
  10. Feb 18, 2021
    80
    As expected, the album’s only low moment comes with the introduction of vocals on ‘Richie Sacramento’. Thankfully, this doesn’t last long. The group are soon back on top of things with the majestic ‘Drive The Nail’ and we’re instantly transported back to their uniquely-formed wonderland.
  11. Mojo
    Feb 17, 2021
    80
    Their clearest vocal to date, not from a guest, but from guitarist/mouthpiece Stuart Braithwaite. ... Yet another high water mark in Mogwai's irresistible ride. [Mar 2021, p.83]
  12. Feb 17, 2021
    80
    As The Love Continues inevitably finds purchase on our tumultuous moment in its deftly summoned suggestions of sorrow and fear, resilience, and close-guarded hope.
  13. Feb 17, 2021
    80
    As the Love Continues is one of them. Already an enduring album, it will surely solidify Mogwai's venerated status as shamans of our collective consciousness.
  14. Feb 17, 2021
    80
    As The Love Continues is a solid gold reminder that while Mogwai may no longer be the future, they deserve and reward every ounce of continued love. A happy 25th to the old team.
  15. Feb 19, 2021
    70
    Overall, As the Love Continues ends up as one solid album that does a great job blending the Mogwai we are accustomed to into a friendlier direction. I wouldn’t place it up there with the best though.
  16. Feb 22, 2021
    69
    As the Love Continues comes off as a reminder of the emptiness of all things and the importance of finding meaning anyway. It’s a hymn to melancholy, and a strike against infinite sadness.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 14 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Feb 24, 2021
    9
    It is from the creation of a kind of "no place" with its non-linear songs that Mogwai established its space. A status of untouchable. InsteadIt is from the creation of a kind of "no place" with its non-linear songs that Mogwai established its space. A status of untouchable. Instead of transforming feelings into direct songs, what the band did, over a little over 20 years of career, was to create between the lines. And because of that, the experience of a Mogwai performance is so lonely. The journey is interior. "As the Love Continues" have all this. Thanks, guys! Full Review »
  2. Feb 22, 2021
    10
    This is more Mogwai, what more can one ask for in life? These guys have inspired tons of bands in the post-rock space, and are absoluteThis is more Mogwai, what more can one ask for in life? These guys have inspired tons of bands in the post-rock space, and are absolute legends.

    Its a total masterpiece from start to finish. I absolutely loved tracks like "To the Bin My Friend, Tonight We Vacate Earth" and "It's What I Want To Do, Mum"
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2021
    9
    Superbly consistent album that includes all of the good stuff e.g trademark quiet/loud song progression but also adds layers of electronicsSuperbly consistent album that includes all of the good stuff e.g trademark quiet/loud song progression but also adds layers of electronics and cinematic strings that they’ve developed in their excellent soundtrack work. Mogwai have always been great at creating emotions and this album needs to be experienced live at some point (hopefully)!

    Two of the many highlights for me are the vulnerable sounding vocals on Richie Sacramento and the driving synth on Dry Fantasy. The contributions by the guest musicians also provide some new and interesting sounds on Midnight Flit and Pat Stains.

    It’s recognisable as Mogwai of course but sounds fresh and relevant, and is never just about simply reusing what has worked in the past.

    As a fellow Scot I’m really proud of the way that they keep pushing themselves and developing their sound. Another great one lads!
    Full Review »