Better Oblivion Community Center Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The surprise release for the music project of Phoebe Bridgers and Conor Oberst features contributions from Carla Azar, Anna Butterss, Christian Lee Hutson, Yeah Yeah Yeahs' Nick Zinner as well as Dawes’ Wylie Gelber and Griffin Goldsmith.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Jan 25, 2019
    It’s full of charming melodies, carefully placed harmonies, and biting lyrics from two of the most influential songwriters around. Some days you just get lucky.
  2. Jan 28, 2019
    This is a cohesive, creative, and multi-faceted record that will over-joy fans of both artists while offering the spark of magic that so rarely comes with these kinds of collaborations.
  3. Jan 24, 2019
    A ten-track album that combines both of their styles to create something that doesn’t sound quite like either of them.
  4. Jan 24, 2019
    Better Oblivion Community Center isn’t an obvious step forward for either artist but it’s a generous and grounded collection of songs, showcasing the complementary talents of two of America’s most talented songwriters. By the crackling close of final track Dominos, you’re more than glad they opened their doors.
  5. Jan 31, 2019
    Recorded last summer in Los Angeles, their debut 10-track album effortlessly showcases both Oberst’s and Bridgers’s strengths as songwriters who are unafraid of literate vulnerability as they explore subjects like loneliness, privilege and estranged family.
  6. Jan 29, 2019
    In Better Oblivion Community Center, Oberst and Bridgers have made a true collaboration, finding a middle ground between their experiences and styles that is truly fertile. All of this is to say that the surprise of Better Oblivion Community Center may only comprise a few genuine surprises, but even what’s predictable about it is utterly lovable and well worth your time.
  7. Jan 25, 2019
    Their album is mostly the sum of its parts: hushed, literate songwriting where his boyish croak meets her anguished sweetness. Occasionally, subtle touches shift the atmosphere.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of
  2. Mixed: 0 out of
  3. Negative: 0 out of