Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 13
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 13
  3. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Apr 29, 2021
    90
    ‘if i could make it go quiet’ has all the qualities of a blockbuster pop record - incessant hooks, A-list producer credits - but hone in on each track and you’ll find intimate vignettes that are fully-formed in themselves.
  2. 80
    Ulven’s vocals are rendered dreamily, almost inspirationally, over guitars that slash and throb in the manner of loud 1990s indie rock. Her boldness and defiance is taking on new shades.
  3. 80
    Where before there was a too-raw frailty to some of Ulven’s music, now she has hit a bold, gleeful stride in which diaristic splurge has become writing; and music, not merely a vector for venting, but a place in which to tame noise into sounds that benefit her.
  4. Apr 29, 2021
    80
    Ulven succeeds in making it go quiet with an entirely instrumental track of spare piano and dramatic strings. These daring instincts are what elevate girl in red’s music beyond her status as the wunderkind of the moment.
  5. 80
    A cinematic widening of scope, ’If I Could Make It Go Quiet’ occasionally leans back on some blockbuster tropes, but in the stand-out moments Ulven proves that she’s more than capable of rabble-rousing indie-rock and slow-burning yearning alike.
  6. Apr 28, 2021
    80
    There’s also enough evidence that If I Can Make It Go Quiet could easily cross over to become a big mainstream pop album. This is a record that signals the arrival of a major new talent.
  7. Apr 27, 2021
    80
    It’s inspiring, and above all else incredibly catchy.
  8. 80
    It's a strong debut that will in no doubt be held in reverence for its musical deftness as it will its personal exorcism.
  9. Apr 27, 2021
    80
    Complex and sophisticated, if i could make it go quiet is one of the most enticing new albums I have heard in a long time.
  10. Apr 30, 2021
    73
    if i could make it go quiet does a pretty great job of playing to Ulven’s strengths while also branching out. Her newer territory might take a moment to adjust to, and may not always entirely suit her, but so long as she keeps singing about the experiences and feelings that are her own, she will remain captivating and exciting.
  11. Apr 27, 2021
    70
    if i could make it go quiet is a testament to girl in red's rapid growth as an artist. In addition to a sophisticated examination of anger and suffering, her voice has grown richer and deeper while her sound has evolved to blend punk nostalgia into her youthful ennui.
  12. May 5, 2021
    68
    While if i could make it go quiet is an occasionally uneven listen, it’s a strong declaration of conviction. Although Ulven is still fine-tuning her approach, her eagerness to explore hints at promising potential.
  13. May 7, 2021
    65
    If i could make it go quiet delivers on a great deal of that initial promise, launching Ulven in the same trajectory as her fellow former bedroom pop prodigies with new shifts in style and sound. She clearly has a lot to say and ambition to match her instinct for cinematic drama.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 29
  2. Negative: 2 out of 29
  1. Apr 30, 2021
    7
    This is a very good debut album by a very good empowering queer Norwegian artist.
  2. May 10, 2021
    7
    If I Could Make It Go Quiet is overall a very solid debut album. The album is very well produced, although suffers from lacking a clear visionIf I Could Make It Go Quiet is overall a very solid debut album. The album is very well produced, although suffers from lacking a clear vision and can feel a little all over the place when it comes to the themes of the songs.

    Stand out tracks - Midnight Love, Apartment 402 & "."
    Full Review »
  3. May 9, 2021
    8
    This is a pretty good debut from the Norwegian musician "Girl in Red." I think that the production was nice, and the mixing was pretty okay,This is a pretty good debut from the Norwegian musician "Girl in Red." I think that the production was nice, and the mixing was pretty okay, but the only problem I have with this is the overall "loudness" of the songs. I also think that the album relied a bit too much on reverb effects, so much to the point where it sounds like she recorded her music in a cathedral, but I can't complain. I am more of a fan of the lo-fi pop that Girl in Red was known for a few years ago, but I guess it's nice to see her try different things. Overall, I think this was pretty okay.

    Overall score: 7.8/10
    Favorite tracks: I'll Call You Mine, Midnight Love, Period, It Would Feel Like This, Did You Come?
    Least favorite tracks: Serotonin
    Full Review »