• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Apr 5, 2019
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
Buy On
  1. Apr 17, 2019
    60
    Free Spirit isn’t an outright failure. For it to be a failure, Khalid would have to at least take a few risks.
  2. Apr 8, 2019
    60
    For a burgeoning artist still establishing his signature style, Khalid settles into a surprising complacency here, failing to experiment with the template of his debut.
  3. Apr 8, 2019
    60
    Free Spirit is Khalid's coming-of-age story: it's well-constructed, but already feels too predictable at this point.
  4. Apr 8, 2019
    60
    Free Spirit is a patchy album from an artist who is perfectly capable of delivering nifty falsetto lines and smooth come-ons, but who is also far too predisposed to sloppy downtempo numbers.
  5. 60
    At 17 tracks, the album feels long, but at its best, Free Spirit finds Khalid soaring closer to becoming pop’s next big star.
  6. Apr 5, 2019
    60
    The LP isn’t overly burdened by the bold-faced guest spots you’d expect on a follow-up by an artist coming off a Top 10 debut. Instead, it gets tripped up by a different sophomore pitfall: Now that he isn’t an underdog, Khalid lapses into a little too much new-star introspection, exploring an ivory-tower aloneness that can recall the Weeknd’s goth-‘n’-B.
  7. 60
    A very credible record with no real mistakes--but no real personality, either.
  8. 58
    On Free Spirit, Khalid sounds caught between wanting to play a superstar and wanting to be himself, with the result that he sounds like neither.
  9. 58
    It's frustrating, then, that Free Spirit's sanded-down sprawl more often than not threatens to suffocate any presence of a personality imbued in the music itself.
  10. Apr 12, 2019
    50
    An hour-long LP with little joy or even relief, one that is nearly static in energy level despite a carousel of producers.
  11. Apr 10, 2019
    47
    Free Spirit isn’t the coming of age album Khalid intended it to be, though in his nascent adulthood he has mastered something. Unfortunately, it’s the art of being innocuous.
  12. Honesty is often lost in overproduction, both in the music and in his lyricism. It is listenable, summery and occasionally thought-provoking, but tired in its laboured pushes for emotional sincerity.
  13. Apr 4, 2019
    40
    It’s hard to escape the feeling that something of his originality has been lost en route.
User Score
6.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 64
  2. Negative: 11 out of 64
  1. Apr 7, 2019
    0
    This album really disappointed me. I was looking forward to it as I loved his debut album and I even saw him in concert which was amazing.This album really disappointed me. I was looking forward to it as I loved his debut album and I even saw him in concert which was amazing. This album to me was a a lot of skips and the stands that did stand out were in no way up to par with the songs from his debut album. Full Review »
  2. Jun 8, 2019
    6
    "American Teen" practically bought Khalid has fame. With numerous hit singles and features from the release of his debut to now, he has been"American Teen" practically bought Khalid has fame. With numerous hit singles and features from the release of his debut to now, he has been arguably one of the most important pop stars in the past few years.

    "Free Spirit" is not "American Teen", however. Khalid has now experienced the all too familiar sophomore slump. It just seems like everywhere you go in pop, every turn you take, there's Khalid.

    "Intro" is the best song on the record, with its spacious synths and reverb-soaked vocals. Mostly every song talks about getting inebriated, drunk-texting your ex-girlfriend, and then waking up to not remember a thing. "Right Back" and "Outta My Head" are the tracks that stand out (even though they are still about love). Oh, and John Mayer stops by to lay down some guitar on the latter track.

    Khalid's newest record is ordinary. That's it. It's just ordinary, love-infested, scorned pop. His vocals are up to par, but the variety and overall greatness of the record is not.
    Full Review »
  3. May 17, 2019
    1
    o album é bem chato e cansativo, parece que Khalid tá na mesma musica o album inteiro.