• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Jan 31, 2020
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Jan 31, 2020
    85
    Compared to 2017’s ken, a gothic-sounding record distinguished by chillier tones and pared-down lyrics, his masterful new album Have We Met sets a larger canvas. Produced by bandmate John Collins, the music is sweeping and bold and surprising.
  2. 85
    All of this adds up: if you’ve enjoyed anything Dan Bejar has done under the Destroyer moniker, you’ll love Have We Met. If you’ve never heard a Destroyer album before, you’ll probably love it too.
  3. Jan 30, 2020
    83
    Have We Met, though perhaps less ambitious than Destroyer’s best work, is nevertheless their freshest and most enjoyable record in years.
  4. Feb 20, 2020
    80
    It's only after several listens that the album's wholeness clarifies. Because the tracks tend to be downtempo, reflective, and downright sleepy, it takes time and patience to realize Bejar is working like a good storyteller.
  5. The result is a markedly retro-futurist sound, from the OMD-ish ‘Kinda Dark’ to ‘It Just Doesn’t Happen’, the synth line on which sounds suspiciously similar to a new wave rendition of Salt-N-Pepa’s ‘Push It’. At times, the music veers so close to kitsch that it may very well alienate some listeners from the get-go. Bejar’s songwriting remains as deft, cryptic and mosaic as ever though.
  6. Feb 4, 2020
    80
    Have We Met is an album to recommend to those who want the meat and potatoes of what the project is about; it could've been self-titled.
  7. Feb 3, 2020
    80
    Have We Met is another new departure, yet it still has that familiar strange storytelling swagger that’s at the heart of Destroyer.
  8. Jan 31, 2020
    80
    On Have We Met, Bejar responds to a world on fire with a strange, and at times unnerving, calm. The absurdity of this moment suits him well.
  9. Jan 30, 2020
    80
    Have We Met is Destroyer at its inscrutable, poetic best, its elegance poised on a rip-tide of violence.
  10. Jan 30, 2020
    80
    Even at their poppiest, Destroyer remain an acquired taste. This time around, it’s one more than worth acquiring.
  11. Uncut
    Jan 27, 2020
    80
    Irresistible examples of Bejar's blend of soft rock, dream-pop and more idiosyncratic elements. [Mar 2020, p.27]
  12. Mojo
    Jan 27, 2020
    80
    The good news is that Have We Met shares melodic strengths with his previous high-water marks. [Mar 2020, p.88]
  13. Q Magazine
    Jan 27, 2020
    80
    Like eclipse glasses, these songs are a way to see things too intense to stare at directly. Peer through them, though, and there's Bejar's world, darkness and beauty visible. [Mar 2020, p.121]
  14. Jan 27, 2020
    80
    Bejar the enigmatic, drunken poet has for several Destroyer albums now taken a back seat to Bejar the singer and bandleader. And while the singing on Have We Met remains tastefully restrained, lyrically there are glimpses of the younger, brasher Bejar here.
  15. Jan 30, 2020
    77
    The result is a hermetic record that is practically self-contained within a computer hard drive. Yet Have We Met never lacks for atmosphere, or a sense of unpredictability that feels kinetic.
  16. Rolling Stone
    Feb 3, 2020
    70
    His wry lyrics ("You're looking good in spite of the light") add an uncanny whimsy. [Feb 2020, p.85]
  17. Feb 3, 2020
    70
    While Have We Met doesn't sound quite like top-shelf Destroyer, it's a fine testament to Bejar's talent and his gift for having things both ways at once, lyrically droll and musically cool and on point.
  18. Jan 28, 2020
    70
    It makes for immersive listening, even when tracks fail to sustain themselves. ... Despite its digressions, Have We Met is rich and varied enough to offer more than just throwback thrills.
  19. Feb 14, 2020
    60
    Have We Met is one of Bejar’s most interesting so far. But the grating oh-so-indie-look-at-me lyrics bash against the beauty of the beats. Maybe, just maybe, Destroyer should focus on soundtracks from now on.
  20. Jan 30, 2020
    60
    His outlook on the world is no happier than it was before, but the lack of a bigger band brings out a fresher sound in the Destroyer canon. It loses some energy in that regard, especially compared to the magnificent ‘Kaputt’, but it does show that, with 13 albums under his belt, Bejar still has plenty to say and even more fantastical ways to say it.
  21. Jan 27, 2020
    60
    It's a surprisingly spotty album from an artist who rarely puts a foot wrong.
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. Jan 31, 2020
    9
    Dan Bejar's best work transports you to a nocturnal world where he acts as a wry guide with whom you float drunkenly through the night. ThisDan Bejar's best work transports you to a nocturnal world where he acts as a wry guide with whom you float drunkenly through the night. This is an album made for headphones and a rainy evening. The songs are consistent in mood, and the standout tracks are among the best of his career. The singles, and especially "It Just Doesn't Happen" set a high bar for the album, but standouts like "the Raven" easily are up to the task of keeping up with that writing. Few artists this far into their careers come up with music this great, Bejar is a treasure. Full Review »
  2. Mar 22, 2020
    7
    ( 77/100 )

    Es un álbum algo monotono sin mucho energía o intensidad. La dinamica que la voz de Dan Bejar tiene con la música muchas veces
    ( 77/100 )

    Es un álbum algo monotono sin mucho energía o intensidad. La dinamica que la voz de Dan Bejar tiene con la música muchas veces no compagina y le quita el atractivo a varias canciones, sin embargo el trabajo de producción, a cargo de John Collins permite que el viaje sea un tranquilo camino de reflexión y serenidad. No hay innovación pero sí hay suficiente esencia y alma en este proyecto que se puede disfrutar como un suavizante ambiental para aquellos que tienen vidas apresuradas o que simplemente disfrutan de las canciones de cuna urbanas.
    -
    This is a monotonous album with no much energy or intensity. The dynamic that Dan Bejar's voice has with the music many times doesn't combine and takes away the attractiveness to several songs, nevertheless, the production work, in hands of John Collins, let the journey to be a calm road of reflection and serenity. There is no innovation but there is enough essence and soul in this project that can be enjoyed as an ambient softener for those who have rushed lives o those that just want to enjoy urban lullabies.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 9, 2020
    8
    Destroyer's albums are consistently great, and no two Destroyer albums sound the same. But the one constant is Dan Bejar's brilliantly vagueDestroyer's albums are consistently great, and no two Destroyer albums sound the same. But the one constant is Dan Bejar's brilliantly vague lyrics and idiosyncratic vocals, as well as top-notch musicianship. If you've ever seen Destroyer live you know that Bejar has the knack of putting exceptionally stellar bands together. Have We Met is a slight disappointment in that it is a bit uneven - not all of the songs work for me. But the songs that do are incredible - The Raven, It Just Doesn't Happen, Crimson Tide, Kinda Dark. Nic Bragg's guitar playing on this is jaw-dropping, but in a way some of it seems a bit spare. After the one-two-three punch of Kaputt, Poison Season, and Ken he was due for something not quite as good. But I'll take any new Destroyer album and absorb myself in it. This is no exception really. Full Review »