• Record Label: Island
  • Release Date: Aug 25, 2014
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    81
    As a result, My Everything is a less cohesive project than Yours Truly, although its best moments eclipse the highs of Grande's 2013 debut.
  2. Aug 29, 2014
    80
    Yours Truly kept you singing until the moon shined and My Everything will make you want to dance until the sun comes up.
  3. Aug 29, 2014
    77
    Turns out, so-called mini-Mariah can hold her own in 2014; and while the best songs here may not be timeless, they certainly feel right for right now.
  4. Aug 29, 2014
    75
    What leaves an impression is Grande herself, deeply cheerful yet with guns blazing, an innocent newcomer no more.
  5. 75
    Despite its shortcomings, My Everything succeeds in its primary objective. This is a pop record, clear and simple.
  6. Aug 26, 2014
    70
    It's a confident, intelligent, brazen pop statement, mixing bubblegum diva vocals with EDM break beats.
  7. Aug 25, 2014
    70
    Perhaps Grande doesn't embody the songs the way an old-fashioned diva would, but she functions as a likeable pop ringleader, stepping aside when the track calls for it and then unleashing a full-throated wail when it's her time to shine.
  8. 67
    For her second album, My Everything, Grande has picked a set of songs so lyrically bland, sonically inoffensive, and artistically empty that they produce a zero-impact experience--musical vanilla fro-yo poured directly into your ears. It's by no means painful; there are even moments of fun.
  9. Sep 23, 2014
    65
    The metallic fingerprint of Auto-Tune is all over My Everything, even the vocal trills that start off the album.
  10. 60
    My Everything isn’t quite everything, but it’s enough.
  11. The innocence in Grande’s voice helps her bring off the cliches in the more earnest material, like the soapy ballad “Why Try” or “Just A Little Bit of Your Heart,” co-written by One Direction’s Harry Styles. She proves less sure on more flip songs.
  12. Aug 22, 2014
    60
    Despite a cast list that includes Childish Gambino and The Weeknd (and, if you're that way inclined, Harry Styles), there's often a facelessness that defeats even Grande's lush vocal performances.
  13. Aug 26, 2014
    58
    My Everything is so well-constructed and designed to succeed, it rarely loosens up enough to let any depth of character (or real surprises) surface.
  14. Sep 2, 2014
    50
    Tying everything back to the idea of the album as a showcase for Grande’s newfound maturity, My Everything ends up ringing hollow.
  15. It’s all well and good to deal with tough topics through music, but My Everything puts on a breezy pop face that severely hinders the potential poignancy of Grande’s words, morphing them into a more disquieting figure.
  16. Aug 25, 2014
    50
    Nothing else, however, on Grande's sophomore effort, My Everything, fulfills the promise of those two singles ["Problem" and "Bang Bang"].
  17. Sep 10, 2014
    40
    My Everything is so concerned with making a palatable pop singer, it has watered down its subject to the point of tastelessness. It is pop music Bud Light.
  18. Aug 25, 2014
    40
    My Everything truly sound[s] like a grab-bag of ideas, lacking any sort of conceptual unity or overall theme.
  19. Aug 25, 2014
    40
    Song after song goes by far too slickly, showcasing Grande's good girl technical ability and her songwriters' hit-making formulae at the expense of lasting memories.
User Score
8.2

Universal acclaim- based on 831 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 79 out of 831
  1. Aug 25, 2014
    10
    Another great album by Ariana Grande. Excellent vocals and addictive songs. She decided to venture further in pop compared to the previousAnother great album by Ariana Grande. Excellent vocals and addictive songs. She decided to venture further in pop compared to the previous album, Yours Truly, and the result was very good. Full Review »
  2. Aug 25, 2014
    1
    Such a huge disappointment from Yours Truly, that album was a masterpiece. My everything sounds like generic pop music that you hear on on theSuch a huge disappointment from Yours Truly, that album was a masterpiece. My everything sounds like generic pop music that you hear on on the radio on a daily basis. I was expecting great things from this album, as Ariana is a very talented artist but I was highly mistaken. I also noticed that Ariana has not written any of the songs on the album excluding the into, this is not a bad thing but it just proves that she just wanted to go down the the radio friendly music route instead writing genuine beautiful music. Full Review »
  3. Aug 25, 2014
    6
    My Everything, is exactly what you can expect; though not as strong as her previous album, Grande's vocals still over weigh the flaws that come along.