• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Sep 29, 2017
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. 80
    Who knows which Miley Cyrus will emerge after the rootsy and real Younger Now, but we recommend enjoying Country Miley for as long as she lasts.
  2. 75
    On Younger Now she is fully her father Billy Ray’s daughter, leaning into the echoey twang of spaghetti-Western stomper “Bad Mood,” rhapsodizing about dirty feet and backyard creeks on “Inspired,” and duetting blithely with godmother Dolly Parton on the summer-­camp jamboree “Rainbowland.”
  3. Sep 28, 2017
    70
    The songs are deliberately low-affect, if short on personality compared to her other albums. But the attention-getter is the finale "Inspired," where she writes a folksy country ballad to express some of her fears about climate change, with the opening lines, "I'm writing down my dreams/All I'd like to see/Starting with the bees." In this context, it's refreshing to hear from the Old Weird Miley again.
  4. Sep 27, 2017
    70
    If Younger Now seems slightly scattered as it flits from song to song, it nevertheless adds up to a portrait of a pop star so confident of her swagger, she doesn't bother with such niceties as old-fashioned flow.
  5. Oct 4, 2017
    60
    It's the sound of a promising young singer who tried and failed to produce compelling music on the margins, turning back and self-consciously striking a more conservative pose. It's not as interesting a story, maybe, but it's also not as problematic.
  6. 60
    Younger Now isn’t a failure exactly--just the sound of Cyrus, or her record company, panicking and hitting “reset.”
  7. Sep 28, 2017
    60
    Sshe has taken control of the songwriting and production and emerges as a conservative, big-lunged, country-tinged pop star with songs about breaking free. ... It’s all really rather lovely, although too soon to know whether this, finally, is the “real” Miley standing up.
  8. 60
    In truth, the move towards country music made on Younger Now is fraught with potholes that she and producer Oren Yoel rarely manage to avoid. The main problem is the half-heartedness of the move.
  9. Sep 29, 2017
    58
    Cyrus’ voice has scarcely been more expressive, and there’s no question that she means what she sings. That said, you might long for a more inspired metaphor (or eight).
  10. Oct 2, 2017
    56
    At its worst, Younger Now is inoffensively bland, wasted Dolly Parton talent aside. Songs like "Love Someone" are dead on arrival with their lifeless energy and forgettable hooks.
  11. Oct 4, 2017
    50
    Where her past albums felt messy but painfully sincere, Younger Now comes off as safe and overly sanitized, with the frisson that made Cyrus a star all but entirely blasted away. ... Still, the album has some plainly good songs.
  12. Sep 29, 2017
    47
    Younger Now blends pop-rock and pablum country fare that is so restrained, so thinly produced, it seems like her lovably goofy personality was hobbled throughout the recording process.
  13. Oct 2, 2017
    42
    Just as things seem a little promising, the limp “Thinkin'” struts in like a Carrie Underwood c-side and firmly sets the tone for the record’s toothless closing third.
  14. 40
    Cyrus’ self-styled country album might be the most weakly considered event record of the year, with lumpy melodies, slapdash rhythms and lyrics that border on self-parody (and not in the way that Nashville’s finest know how to do).
  15. 33
    The one redeeming quality behind this whole project is Cyrus’ twangy voice, which saves this project from being entirely pointless. In her lower registers, Cyrus draws you into her husk and warmth. It is in these moments she reveals the traces of an artist who otherwise remains absent from this album.
  16. Oct 16, 2017
    30
    This is a thumpingly disappointing and consistently milquetoast set of songs riddled with lyrical banality, done-to-death melodies and wispily thin production.
  17. Oct 12, 2017
    30
    Younger Now is a hookless, joyless, profitable success.
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 738 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    THIS IS AN ALBUM LADIES

    personally, i was ready to cancel my pre order lmao but miley delivered. top to bottom this is an awesome record,
    THIS IS AN ALBUM LADIES

    personally, i was ready to cancel my pre order lmao but miley delivered. top to bottom this is an awesome record, and it’s way more alternative than i’d say “country” and i dig it a lot. i can tell miley wrote a lot of these songs from her heart and that’s why i love it so much.

    i just wish the roll out was better for such a great album. and i honestly think, the wrong singles were chosen - younger now, bad mood and thinkin should’ve been the singles before the album dropped. personally, malibu doesnt capture the feel of the record and younger now opens the album perfectly and explains this whole “change” magnificently and i think if YN was the first song heard w/ the video the era would’ve been handled smoother (by the gp too).

    and also, im curious to see how this’ll do. i know miley will have a #1 record im just curious as to the critical acclaim it’ll get and im sure she’s going to get grammy noms - this is a grammy album. and despite her not making as mainstream music as demi, selena or ariana; miley remains the most creative ex act honestly.
    Full Review »
  2. Oct 2, 2017
    10
    Good Album, amazin. something different from what we're used to listening to. We not only see evolution in its letters but also in theGood Album, amazin. something different from what we're used to listening to. We not only see evolution in its letters but also in the evolution of its feelings. Full Review »
  3. Sep 29, 2017
    10
    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better

    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better
    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better

    Good album overall, but she could’ve made some songs better

    ........................................................................................
    Full Review »