Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. 100
    On ‘TYRON’, Slowthai roars.
  2. Feb 8, 2021
    90
    It’s a multi-faceted and mature second album from an artist that a lot of people wrongly assumed could only work in one narrow lane.
  3. 83
    On TYRON, slowthai doesn’t make grand statements or platitudes like a politician. He simply offers his own story of perseverance, hand extended and Mona Lisa smile brimming.
  4. Mar 2, 2021
    80
    He’s successfully bridged the gap from local to international with this album and when everyone can go on tour again I think he’ll have a ready made audience well outside of the United Kingdom.
  5. Feb 16, 2021
    80
    In the end, despite the rowdy noise of the album's first seven tracks, it's the gentler songs on the second half that genuinely highlight Slowthai's voice. He has responded to the global pandemic with an album that not only acknowledges but revels in the complexity and, yes, the ugliness of human relationships. But in response, he's made some beautiful music.
  6. Feb 12, 2021
    80
    TYRON feels like a necessary release for the controversial rapper. Even though he’s placed himself as the centre of attention this time around, there is still plenty of societal commentary to be gleaned from his autobiographical missives – and it’s no less urgent or energising.
  7. Feb 12, 2021
    80
    TYRON is a move away from the raw production style, too, as the beats and other instrumentals here are much more refined and polished. Lyrically, he turns away from the harsh political themes and statements of his debut to topics of much more personal significance to Ty, while not forgetting the part of him that is ‘the contemporary rapper’. Even with this more personal approach, slowthai truly embodies the idea that punk is not dead.
  8. Feb 12, 2021
    80
    The first half of the record, complete with some of the catchiest work he’s made so far, also stands in stark contrast to the warmer vulnerability on side two.
  9. Feb 11, 2021
    80
    While slowthai has always been praised for his honesty, he reveals more of himself on Tyron than before, and it's equally as compelling as the sharp social commentary of his debut.
  10. Feb 11, 2021
    80
    The puffier-chested side of his persona is still perfectly enjoyable, but when he packs away his bluster for the second half of the record, he creates something truly memorable.
  11. Feb 10, 2021
    80
    What the album lacks in political incisiveness, it gains in the nuance of its twin perspectives. Having told the story of his country, slowthai is ready to tackle his own.
  12. Mojo
    Feb 8, 2021
    80
    Tyron unpacks its creator's complex character, flaws bravely to the fore. [Mar 2021, p.88]
  13. Feb 8, 2021
    80
    On TYRON, slowthai sounds more together and present than ever.
  14. 80
    It’s good – but could have been great.
  15. Feb 10, 2021
    78
    TYRON is an exciting follow-up project whose bifurcated structure encapsulates the duality of slowthai’s effervescent rap persona and the evolving interiority of Tyron Frampton.
  16. Feb 16, 2021
    71
    In directing his anger inward, slowthai loses some of the urgency and incisiveness that made his debut so compelling, along with the contrast that made that album’s vulnerable moments so striking. But he’s undoubtedly honed his craft, sounding slicker as he retreats from placard rap to the journaling process that got him started in the first place.
  17. Feb 12, 2021
    70
    The result is both illuminating and one-dimensional in equal measure. ... Despite a handful of missed landings, Tyron still admirably inspires the kind of mosh-pit energy that feels nearly romantic in an era of closed venues and social distancing.
  18. Uncut
    Feb 8, 2021
    70
    It's when Slowthai turns the lens inward on the soulful "NHS" and loved-up "Feel Away" - featuring James Blake and Mount Kimbie - that he proves himself something of an original. [Mar 2021, p.37]
  19. Feb 19, 2021
    60
    It’s a clear attempt to deliver a more mature, varied work than Nothing Great About Britain, and in that it succeeds. But considering his lofty aspirations, there’s nothing here that others rappers like Dave or Akala – both blessed with greater emotional intelligence, intellectual gravitas and grasp of social and political issues – haven’t done better.
  20. 60
    Overall, TYRON is not quite the same intense powerhouse as Nothing Great About Britain. The strength of the first half gives way to half-hearted examinations of one’s place in the world. But Slowthai still delivers a compelling record which seeks to discover and establish a self-portrait that’s a little messy but worth praising for its efforts at rough-around-the-edges ingenuity.
  21. 60
    The record is divided into two sets. The first half is a jagged-edged electro backed spleen-splurge with all seven tracks titled with the CAPS LOCK ON. The smoother, more soulful second half finds him in more reflective, lower-case mood.
  22. Feb 11, 2021
    60
    TYRON’s second half is undoubtedly more interesting, demonstrating a maturity to his lyrical ability. While it does feel like a forced attempt to put things right, on TYRON slowthai is allowed the time for self-reflection that cancel culture often denies.
  23. Feb 11, 2021
    60
    There are striking contributions from an eclectic range of guests, including veteran British rapper Skepta, sound wizard James Blake and singer-songwriter Deb Never, and it all sounds intriguingly modern, with a pleasingly discombobulating bent. Yet, when stripped of political context, it exposes the emptiness of Slowthai’s wordplay, all sound and fury, signifying nothing much at all.
  24. Feb 18, 2021
    55
    For all of their obvious quality and intricate attention to detail, there is no escaping the fact that this album feels clumsy and disjointed. It isn’t an abject failure but flirts with this possibility on too many occasions for it to be even mentioned in the same breath as slowthai’s previous studio effort.
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 31
  2. Negative: 1 out of 31
  1. Mar 1, 2021
    9
    This album outdid my expectations of it. I was a huge fan of the two disc style, the second half being the better one. 'i tried', 'nhs' andThis album outdid my expectations of it. I was a huge fan of the two disc style, the second half being the better one. 'i tried', 'nhs' and 'feel away' were some standouts as well as 'VEX' in the first half. I think he's only going to get better as he progresses, I also love his political commentary to go along with his eye for good music. Full Review »
  2. Feb 19, 2021
    10
    Though I love nothing great about Britain, I find Tyron to be a more complete album, with side 1 being full of angrier bangers and side 2Though I love nothing great about Britain, I find Tyron to be a more complete album, with side 1 being full of angrier bangers and side 2 being more conscious, giving the listener a choice in later listens, as much as I enjoy the 1st side, I do find the second half to be where the best music is, as I do prefer conscious rap Full Review »
  3. Feb 15, 2021
    8
    Great Album, I have never listened to Slowthai before this project and I was very pleasantly surprised. The first half was fine, kindaGreat Album, I have never listened to Slowthai before this project and I was very pleasantly surprised. The first half was fine, kinda experimental British rap but It was nothing compared to the second half. The second half blew me away with how emotional and creative it got with great flows amazing beats and a nostalgic feel. The project overall really helped me understand what someone with ADHD may experience and I think that's a great thing to get out of a project. The first half however lacked some aspects that prevent this album from being as good as it could be. Full Review »