• Record Label: Sub Pop
  • Release Date: Nov 18, 2022
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
Buy Now
Buy on
  1. Nov 18, 2022
    100
    Like our planet, this album is a rare thing of wonder.
  2. 100
    By being pliable, open and more tender, Mering seems to suggest, perhaps we can save ourselves from the doom that this stunning record finds itself gripped within.
  3. 90
    Magnificently composed, Weyes Blood reaches out to cast your loneliness away. Feeling like a timeless classic, this record is one that you can revisit whenever you want to hear the comforting sounds of another soul trying to figure it all out.
  4. Nov 18, 2022
    90
    Her storytelling eye is sharp and her ear is honed to bring the most out of it melodically and instrumentally (with a tipped hat to Jonathan Rado’s excellent production). ... She is a torch bearer for our times.
  5. Nov 18, 2022
    90
    Weyes Blood’s And In the Darkness, Hearts Aglow is a revelatory baroque pop album forged in these recent chaotic days.
  6. Nov 17, 2022
    90
    Every so often, this imperative to speak big-tent truths can become strained and make her lyrics frustratingly vague, as on “Children of the Empire” (“we tend to live long, that’s why so many things go wrong”), but that song’s gorgeous vocal melody and Mering’s impassioned performance lift it beyond its limitations.
  7. Nov 16, 2022
    90
    Musically, In the Darkness is perhaps her grandest, most elegant work to date—a perfect culmination of her past experimentalism and deep devotion to graceful melodies that lift from the deepest parts of the soul up to the heavens.
  8. Nov 15, 2022
    90
    Mering has concocted a successor to Titanic Rising that any gambler worth their salt would have no doubt taken the under on. That Mering topped her own prior masterwork is its own reward and one we are no doubt not worthy of.
  9. Uncut
    Nov 14, 2022
    90
    Her voice alone is worth preserving humanity for, hitting peaks of gorgeous, sleek torment on the cosmic beauty of "A Given Thing". [Dec 2022, p.36]
  10. Nov 18, 2022
    84
    The rhythms are stately and unsyncopated. The arrangements are lushly orchestral. The songs are mostly around six minutes long, proceeding at the unhurried pace of guided meditations. And, perhaps owing to the sense of communion-via-solitude espoused in the first track, the lyrics are concerned with “we” nearly as often as they are with “I”.
  11. Nov 17, 2022
    80
    A beautifully wrought pop record that grapples with the disquiet hanging over the globe.
  12. Nov 17, 2022
    80
    Whatever havoc the pandemic may have wreaked on Mering’s already gloomy outlook, it’s done nothing to spoil her melodic facility. And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow gently bombards you with one fantastic tune after another.
  13. Nov 17, 2022
    80
    And in the Darkness, Hearts Aglow is another step forward for Weyes Blood, building on the stunning sonic and emotional environments she tailored on Titanic Rising and using that lushness as a means of processing destabilized times.
  14. 80
    There’s a little electronic noodling going on to remind us that, though Mering sounds supremely grounded, a part of her is still in exiled orbit around a damaged world. It’s soulful, and a little spooky.
  15. Nov 16, 2022
    80
    The music is the same gorgeous blend of folk-rock in the vein of Joni Mitchell and Stevie Nicks as on previous albums, and indeed, many of the song titles, such as ‘Children of the Empire’, feel lifted from the dusty cover of a forgotten LP of ballads.
  16. Nov 14, 2022
    80
    And In The Darkness, Hearts Aglow again shows Mering's most extraordinary craft. [Dec 2022, p.82]
  17. Nov 14, 2022
    80
    The pandemic is the ghost at the feast, lyrics dotted throughout about the deep personal upheaval we have all endured both publicly and privately these past two years. Penultimate track The Worst Is Done lifts up the mood with wistful optimism, setting up the stage for the third and final album of this heart-rending saga.
  18. Nov 17, 2022
    75
    Mering sounds like she feels cornered by the current state of things and unsettled about our future. It is a testament to her skill and vision as a musician that she can make such circumstances sound so good.
  19. Nov 17, 2022
    70
    In many ways, it’s the perfect soundtrack to a world struggling to emerge from a pandemic. ... If there’s a criticism to be had, it’s that it all sometimes seems a bit cold.
  20. Nov 14, 2022
    70
    Though rose-colored, its sentiments don’t feel cheap because Mering’s buttery vibrato and earnest vocal performance ably convey the necessity of accepting a lack of assurance about the future while embracing temporary comfort.
User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Nov 18, 2022
    10
    amazing. i started levitating in the air during god turn me into a flower. it’s so good. i bought two pressings of it on vinyl and i can’tamazing. i started levitating in the air during god turn me into a flower. it’s so good. i bought two pressings of it on vinyl and i can’t wait to listen more. Full Review »
  2. Nov 19, 2022
    10
    I will just say one thing: Natalie Mering is an artist with a very high IQ.
  3. Nov 18, 2022
    4
    Beautiful production. Very lush and little space within vocals and music. Has a 70’s vibe but feels modern. I think I’ll listen more once IBeautiful production. Very lush and little space within vocals and music. Has a 70’s vibe but feels modern. I think I’ll listen more once I get the vinyl delivered and have more adjective and hopefully verbs. It’s a solid album in this day and age. I think it will appeal to many type of folks and cliques. Full Review »