Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy On
  1. Jan 16, 2020
    80
    For every comparison you can make of individual moments, there is little here that you can honestly say you’ve heard before, and little that can be judged on traditional terms. But that’s what makes her such a fascinating force.
  2. Jan 14, 2020
    80
    I Disagree is surreal, genre bending, heavy, light, childish and mature all at once.
  3. Jan 9, 2020
    80
    As both a symbolic avatar for her life changes and a strong empowerment statement, I Disagree celebrates Poppy's rebirth as a pop-metal alchemist and unabashed rule-breaker.
  4. I Disagree is her most accomplished record, full of daring theatre and snarling forward motion. While all our favourite rock bands are going pop, Poppy is unapologetically embracing her desire to go heavy. It might be inspired by the bands she grew up listening to, but there’s not a moment on ‘I Disagree’ that feels like a throwback.
  5. Jan 13, 2020
    70
    I Disagree is decidedly “post-genre,” tossing Poppy’s pop aesthetic into the shredder with heavy metal and industrial rock, previously only hinted at on the tail end of 2018’s Am I a Girl? “Concrete” shifts abruptly between tempos and genres, between commercial jingles and Beatles-esque chamber-pop, all shot through with roaring electric guitar riffs. That might sound incoherent, but it serves as a bold, deftly executed mission statement.
  6. Jan 10, 2020
    70
    This album is going to seriously divide opinions across the spectrum, from the trvest of metal sugariest of pop stans. But Poppy remains a daring and divisive artist making daring and divisive art, and ‘I Disagree’ is the perfect shot of adrenaline to kick start a new decade with.
  7. 70
    Essentially, this is sugar-rush, hyperactive pop music for people with the attention span of a gnat.
  8. Jan 9, 2020
    70
    She has expanded her musicality while also challenging genre conventions. A major shift from her previous endeavors, I Disagree will challenge her established fans while amassing new appreciation for the artist.
  9. Jan 15, 2020
    65
    No single passage lasts very long, which gives even the prettier moments an unstable feeling, like everything might at any moment crumble into a void of distortion and noise. Throughout, her lyrics are venomous and apocalyptic.
  10. Q Magazine
    Jan 14, 2020
    60
    Respite is offered up by the lilting Don't Go Outside, which reveals a beating heart beneath the conceptual framework. [Mar 2020, p.120]
  11. Jan 13, 2020
    60
    I Disagree is a record you’ll want to enjoy, but not necessarily analyze. It’s perfect for a romp down the highway at 90 MPH, or engulfing your personal critics in flames. It’s not going to spark much conversation intellectually or musically, with the caveat to the latter being the obvious hype that will emanate from just how contagiously fun it is.
  12. Jan 13, 2020
    60
    Overall, an enjoyable, imaginative and at times uncanny assault on the senses.
  13. Jan 10, 2020
    60
    Of course, this is Poppy, and so repetitive, Twitter bot-like lyrics remain the norm (“Chewy chewy / Yummy yummy yummy”, goes one refrain). But there are moments of musical complexity and bracing sincerity that her previous albums have lacked.
  14. Jan 9, 2020
    50
    Beyond the overt gimmickry of the singles "Concrete" and "BLOODMONEY" (the latter sounds like she went rooting through Skrillex's trash), I Disagree is often surprisingly unchaotic.
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 204 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 22 out of 204
  1. Jan 10, 2020
    10
    Simply iconic. Transitioning form her pop persona to a much more mature and diverse character, offering a palette of emotions and depthsSimply iconic. Transitioning form her pop persona to a much more mature and diverse character, offering a palette of emotions and depths absent in previous works. Full Review »
  2. Jan 10, 2020
    6
    To be honest i didnt like this album. But i dont get why Selela Gomez´s fans come here and talk trash about this album. I dont know a lotTo be honest i didnt like this album. But i dont get why Selela Gomez´s fans come here and talk trash about this album. I dont know a lot about gomez but i think that shes is a nice person and she wouldnt appreciate all these trolls just hating on this album they probably never heard. You can like an artist and dont put down other artists. Cheers! Full Review »
  3. Jan 10, 2020
    8
    I like the ambitious that her put in this album, lots of ideas and experimental elements mixed in it . It was pretty risky to composed theseI like the ambitious that her put in this album, lots of ideas and experimental elements mixed in it . It was pretty risky to composed these kind of mixed-genre stuff especially mixing pop with heavy sound together, high chance to messed it up but thankfully she done it pretty well. Full Review »